Bail Agent Licensing

Important Mississippi Bail Agent License Update

For questions concerning the Bail Bond Data Base, please contact the Mississippi Bondsource Support line at 844-607-6432

(NEW) Effective 03-16-2020, All Bail Agents will need to schedule an appointment for fingerprints, as the Department no longer accepts walk-ins. You may call 601-359-3582 and schedule your fingerprint appointment between the hours of 9:00 am and 4:00 pm.

Effective November 10, 2017, the department will be providing a 90-day notification for license renewal for insurance producers, adjusters, entities, and bail agents. Please ensure that the department has your current business e-mail as renewal invoices will be sent to the business email address on record. Bail Soliciting & Enforcement Agents licenses are mailed and Professional Bail Agents are emailed. For questions, email licensing@mid.ms.gov.

You may verify/update your contact information, including your mailing address and current e-mail address on Sircon’s Website.
You can also download and complete an Address Change Form, then scan and email it to licensing@mid.ms.gov.

Email Instructions

Bail Agent License Revocations (List updated 07/02/2024)

Bail Agent Licensing

The Mississippi Insurance Department offers the following types of producer\individual licenses. Click on the links (where available) for application instructions and forms. Questions pertaining to the licensing process should be directed to licensing@mid.ms.gov or by calling the MID Licensing Division at (601) 359-3582.

Bail Prelicensing

Testing Center: Pearson Vue / www.pearsonvue.com / (888) 293-4222
Monday – Friday, 7:00am – 7:00pm CT, Closed on local holidays

Bail Agent Continuing Education

Fees

  • Bail Agent, Professional – $100.00
    • Limited Surety
    • Personal Surety
  • Bail Enforcement or Soliciting Agent – $40.00
  • Professional Bail Agent’s Certificate of Authority – $25.00
  • Fingerprinting- $50.00

Bail Licenses

Bail Agent, Professional – InstructionsApplication

Bail Enforcement or Soliciting Agent – InstructionsApplication

Additional Forms

Renewals

Bail Agent, Professional/Bail Enforcement or Soliciting Agent Bail Agent licenses will renew in September in odd years (e.g. 2013, 2015, 2017). Bail Agent renewal invoices will be mailed the last week of July.

Online Renewals

For those with inactive licenses, if you wish to reinstate, you may submit a first-time Professional Bail Agent, Bail Enforcement or Soliciting Agent paper application.

Bail Statute

Mississippi Code 1972, Title 99, Chapter 5, Criminal Procedures (Sec. 99-5-11 to 99-5-39)

Mississippi Code 1972, Title 83. Chapter 39, Bail Bonds and Bondsmen (Sec 83-39-1 to 83-39-31)

To locate MS Code access Secretary of State website: www.sos.ms.gov/communications-publications/mississippi-law

Laws, Bulletins, Regulations