Important Mississippi Bail Agent License Update
For questions concerning the Bail Bond Data Base, please contact the Mississippi Bondsource Support line 844-607-6432.
The Mississippi Insurance Department has authorized Vertafore/Sircon to distribute license renewal notices electronically via business e-mail.
You will not receive a printed copy of your renewal notice after December 23, 2016. Please ensure that the department has your current business e-mail address.
You may verify/update your contact information, including mailing address and current e-mail address on the Sircon’s Website.
You can also download and complete an Address Change Form, then scan and email to email@example.com.
Bail Agent Licensing
The Mississippi Insurance Department offers the following types of producer\individual licenses. Click on the links (where available) for application instructions and
forms. Questions pertaining to the licensing process should be directed to firstname.lastname@example.org or by calling the MID Licensing
Division at (601) 359-3582.
Use the index below to go directly to a particular section on this page:
For information relating to prelicensing or continuing education Bail agents should contact:
the Mississippi Bail Agents Association (www.msbail.org
/ 601‐899‐8599) or
the MS Coalition of Limited Surety Agents (www.mcols.org
/ 1-877-771-2245) or
the department at 601‐359‐3582.
Testing Center: Testing Services, Inc. / www.testingservices-ms.com / (601) 607-7736
Look Up Education Courses or Credits
back to top
Bail Agent Continuing Education
back to top
- Bail Agent, Professional - $100.00
- Limited Surety
- Personal Surety
- Bail Enforcement or Soliciting Agent - $40.00
- Professional Bail Agent’s Certificate of Authority - $25.00
- Fingerprinting- $50.00
back to top
back to top
Bail Agent, Professional/Bail Enforcement or Soliciting Agent Bail Agent licenses will renew in September in odd years (e.g. 2013, 2015, 2017). Bail Agent renewal
invoices will be mailed the last week of July.
For those with inactive licenses, if you wish to reinstate, you may submit a first-time Professional Bail Agent, Bail Enforcement or Soliciting Agent paper application.
Mississippi Code 1972, Title 99, Chapter 5, Criminal Procedures (Sec. 99-5-11 to 99-5-39)
Mississippi Code 1972, Title 83. Chapter 39, Bail Bonds and Bondsmen (Sec 83-39-1 to 83-39-31)
To locate MS Code access Secretary of State website: http://www.sos.ms.gov/Education-Publications/Pages/Mississippi-Code
back to top
Laws, Bulletins, Regulations
2016 Legislative Summary
2013 Legislative Summary
back to top
Bail Frequently Asked Questions
back to top
I want to become a bail bondsman/bounty hunter. What do I need to do?
You will need to take the 40-hour pre-licensing course offered by the Mississippi Bail Association, pass the state bail agent exam, come to the MS Insurance Department to be fingerprinted, complete an application (signed by both you and the professional bail agent you will be working under), a full-face color photo, and $40 fee per license (bail soliciting & bail enforcement).
When and where are the pre-licensing classes held?
Contact the Mississippi Bail Association at (601) 899-8599 for information on upcoming classes. Their website is: www.msbail.org
When and where are the state exams administered?
Contact the Testing Services at (601) 607-7736 for information on upcoming exam dates and locations to be given. Their website is: www.testingservices-ms.com
How long will it take to get my license?
Once the application has been received, it takes approximately 7 to 14 business days. This is also dependent on receiving the fingerprint background results from DPS and the FBI.
Can I work for more than one professional bail agent?
Only a bail enforcement agent is allowed to work under more than one professional bail agent. He/she will have to apply for each license. As long as the applicant is currently licensed, the only requirements are a completed application and license fee.
How do I start my own bonding company?
The MID does not license bonding companies. The Personal Surety and Limited Surety professional licenses authorize the individual
to have a trade name (bonding company). The requirements are:
- Hold a bail soliciting license for three (3) consecutive years prior to applying for a professional agent license.
- Pass the professional bail agent exam.
- Submit completed application and $100 fee.
- Submit a full-faced color photo.
- Become fingerprinted by the MID if not submitted in the previous twelve (12) months; if previously fingerprinted, use resubmission form.
- Additionally, Limited Surety must include appointment form and $25 fee; Personal Surety must include $30,000 CD, irrevocable security power,
and original bank safekeeping receipt if CD is not the original.
Can I have both professional licenses?
What’s the difference between the two professional licenses?
The Personal Surety must post a $30,000.00 qualification bond (CD) and irrevocable security power. The Limited Surety is backed by the appointing insurance company.
Can I bring a $30,000.00 cashier’s check or personal check?
The department only accepts certificates of deposit (CD) or a state-issued bond.
Should I have my spouse’s (parent, etc.) name on the CD/bond in case something happens to me?
No. The CD’s are to be made out to both the professional bondsman and the Mississippi Insurance Department. These are not to be redeemed until formally released by the Commissioner of Insurance.
I’m out of state and my partner and I want to start a bail bond business in your state. What are the
Non-residents must comply with the requirements the same as the residents. See question 5.
Who do I contact regarding continuing education?
Call the Mississippi Bail Association – (601) 899-8599.
I want to get out of the bail bonds business. How do I get my money back?
Contact the MID Legal Division for instructions. If your personal surety license has been inactive for five (5) years, you may simply submit a letter to the department to request your qualification bond be returned.
Two bail bondsmen came to my house and kicked my door in. Can I tell you about it?
All complaints must be in writing. Be sure to indicate the name of the bail agent and NOT the bail bonding company. Give specifics of the incident(s) and if money was involved, send copies of payment(s) made. Mail to: Mississippi Insurance Department, Attn: Investigations Division, P O Box 79, Jackson, MS 39205.
I am a Limited Surety agent and my company canceled my appointment. What does that mean?
By operation of law, your license will be canceled and you will be notified by certified letter by the department. To reinstate, you must submit a new application, $100 license fee, a new company appointment with $25 appointment fee and become fingerprinted by our staff (if not done so in the previous 12 months).
What happens if I do not take the 8-hour CE course in both of the two license years?
Your license will be canceled on the expiration date (which is September 30 of every odd year). If you wish to reinstate, you will be required to take the 40-hour pre-license course (if not already taken). If you have taken the 40-hour course, you will need to apply for your license after it expires and it will show a lapse. You will also need to be fingerprinted by our staff if not done so in the previous 12 months.
If a bail enforcement agent is currently licensed, wants to add another professional and has not taken the
40-hour pre-licensing course, will they be required to do so?
Since the bail enforcement agent is currently licensed, they WILL NOT be required to take the 40-hour course.