Information about the Mississippi Insurance Department

Licensing Division

Director of Licensing

Wanda Magers

Director of Licensing

Wanda Magers was officially named Director of Licensing Division by Commissioner Mike Chaney effective August 1, 2013.

Magers, an Iowa native is a graduate of Troy State University, Troy, Alabama and Park University, Parkville, Missouri. She is a graduate of the Mississippi Certified Public Managers Program (CPM). Magers received her SILA-Association designation July 30, 2013. In 2010 she was selected as a Top Ten Business Woman of the American Business Women’s Association (ABWA). In 2002 she was honored as a Top 50 Business Woman in Mississippi.

From 2004-2013, Magers served in the Licensing Division providing administrative direction and supervision. Previously she held the position of Chronic Disease Director, Mississippi State Department of Health. She retired in 2001 from the United States Marine Corps.

Wanda is an active member with the Insurance Professionals of Jackson (IWJ), Securities & Insurance Licensing Association (SILA), Buried Treasures Home board member, Danny Stampley Woman’s Missionary Union (WMU) chair, and committee member and grant writer for the annual Hope Cancer Conference.


The Licensing Division is responsible for licensing insurance producers, agents and business entities. The Division ensures that all applicants have complied with the licensing laws prior to receiving a license to engage in the business of insurance in the State of Mississippi. The Division’s primary goals are to provide prompt and efficient customer service, attain uniformity with other states and comply with the provisions of the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act.

Contact Us

Mailing Address:
Licensing Division
Mississippi Insurance Department
P.O. Box 79
Jackson, MS 39205

Street Address:
1001 Woolfolk State Office Building
501 N. West St.
Jackson, MS 39201
Phone Numbers:
Mississippi Insurance Department - 601-359-3569
Licensing Division - 601-359-3582
Fax - 601-359-1951

Email: Licensing Division