
MEMORANDUM 

TO: MISSISSIPPI ELECTRONIC PROTECTION 
LICENSE APPLICANTS 

FROM: STATE FIRE MARSHAL'S OFFICE 

DATE: JULY 1, 2014 

RE: LICENSE APPLICATION 

The Mississippi Electronic Protection Division of the State Fire Marshal's Office has been established in order to 
implement Senate Bill 2697. The purpose of Regulation EP-2006-1 is to license individuals and companies 
which offer electronic protective systems, burglar alarm systems, closed circuit television alarm systems, or 
services to such alarms or systems to the public. 

Application(s) and the Mississippi Electronic Protection Licensing Act Rules and Regulations can be 
accessed through the Mississippi Insurance Department web site: www.mid.ms.gov 

https://www.mid.ms.gov/sfm/mississippi-electronic-protection-systems.aspx#forms 

Application (s), fees and required documentation must be submitted to the Electronic Protection Division of the 
State Fire Marshal's Office, 239 North Lamar Street Suite 101 Jackson, MS 39205. 

Please use a seperate application form for each license class.

             PAYMENT IS ACCEPTED IN THE FORM OF CASH, CHECK, OR MONEY ORDER.  
CREDIT CARDS CAN NOT BE ACCEPTED. 

   N OTICE:  Effective immediately, all fingerprinting will be done by scheduled appointment on Tuesdays & Thursdays

o
at 239 North Lamar Street Suite 101 Jackson, MS 39205. 

If Conflicts arise and scheduled times cannot be met, please contact this office to reschedule. Contact Swayzie Matthews
at 601-359-1066 if you have any questions.

Docu
 Documentation requirements are as follows: 

Class A   1. Documentation that the company is an entity duly authorized to conduct business within 
this State.

2. Documentation that the company has a valid location within the Mississippi

State lines and the Designated Agent of said company lives within 150 miles of the
Mississippi location.

3. Documentation that the company holds a general liability and errors and omissions

insurance policy, or a surety bond, in an amount not less than Three Hundred Thousand

Dollars ($300,000).

4. Documentation that the company carries current and valid workers' compensation insurance
policy as required by state law.

5. Documentation that one (1) employee for the company holds a Class- B license at each

operating location. 

Class A: License Fee $450.00 
Renewal: Renewal Fee $200.00 

https://www.mid.ms.gov/sfm/mississippi-electronic-protection-systems.aspx#forms


        Class B      1. Documentation that the applicant has successfully completed the Advanced 
 Intrusion Systems (AIS) course as well as the Fire Alarm Installation 
 Techniques/Methods (FAIM/FAIT) course. 

2. Two (2) passport size photographs of the applicant.
3. Applicant shall be fingerprinted at the State Fire Marshal's Office.

  Class B:    License Fee $150.00 + Fingerprint Fee $50.00
  Renewal:  Renewal Fee $50.00 

       Class C    1. Documentation that the applicant has successfully completed a minimum of 
          National Burglar and Fire Alarm Association, Level 1 Burglar Alarm training  
           course, or equivalent training approved by the State Fire Marshal.

2. Two (2) passport size photographs of the applicant.
3. Applicant shall be fingerprinted at the State Fire Marshal's Office.

 Class C:    License Fee $150.00 + Fingerprint Fee $50.00 
  Renewal:  Renewal Fee $50.00  

       Class D    1. Documentation that the applicant has successfully completed a minimum of  
 National Burglar and Fire Alarm Association, Sales Understanding Alarms

         training course, or equivalent training approved by the State Fire Marshal.  
2. Two (2) passport size photographs of the applicant.
3. Applicant shall be fingerprinted at the State Fire Marshal's Office.

   Class D:    License Fee  $150.00 + Fingerprint Fee $50.00 
  Renewal:  Renewal Fee $50.00  

       Class H 1. Letter from the Supervisor stating that they are to only be a helper (cable puller,
(cable pulle gopher, or assistant).

2. Two (2) passport size photographs 2. Two (2) passport size photographs of the applicant.

3. Applicant shall be fingerprinted at the State Fire Marshal's Office. 

3. Applicant shall be fingerprinted at the State Fire Marshal's Office.

3. Applicant shall be fingerprinted 

3. Applicant shall be fingerprinted at the State Fire  

assistant 
assistant).  

                  2. Two      
3. A  .   

ClLicense Fee $150.00 + Fingerprint Fee $50.00
Renewal: Renewal Renewal: Renewal Fee $50.00 

License Upgrade: $50.00 
Duplicate License: $20.00  

3. Applicant shall be fingerprinted at the State Fire Marshal's Office.

Class H:    License Fee $150.00 + Fingerprint Fee $50.00 
Renewal:  Renewal Fee $50.00  

License Upgrade: $50.00   
Duplicate License: $20.00 
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Mississippi Insurance Department
Post Office Box 79
Jackson, MS 39205

Office of the State Fire Marshal 
239 North Lamar Street Suite 
101 Jackson, MS 39205

 Phone (601) 359-1061 
Fax (601) 359-1076

MISSISSIPPI ELECTRONIC PROTECTION LICENSE APPLICATION  
What type of license are you applying for?  Initial   Renewal Revision  Duplicate

LICENSE NUMBER:                                         (Does not apply to initial license) 

CHECK 
ONE

TYPE OF LICENSE      LICENSE 
FEE

RENEWAL 
FEE

 DUPLICATE 
FEE

 UPGRADE 
FEE

CLASS  A - Contracting Company $450.00 $200.00 $20.00
CLASS  B - System Technician $150.00 $50.00 $20.00
CLASS  C - System Installer $150.00 $50.00 $20.00 $50.00
CLASS  D - System Salesperson $150.00 $50.00 $20.00 $50.00
CLASS  H - Helper $150.00 $50.00 $20.00 $50.00

TO BE COMPLETED BY CLASS –A (CONTRACTING COMPANY) 
Company Name:

Mailing Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Physical Address: (If different from mailing):

City: State: Zip Code:

Phone Number: County:

Owner's Name:

Federal Tax Identification Number or Social Security Number:

Name of Designated Agent:

Web Site Address: E-Mail Address:

Names of Each Company Providing Monitoring Services

     (Page 1 of 2) 

( )

Company license number (Does not apply to initial license)

   FINGERPRINT
PROCESSING FEE  

$50.00
$50.00

$50.00
$50.00

Fingerprints Upgrade



TO BE COMPLETED BY CLASS-B, C, D & H 
Last Name: First & Middle Name: Phone:

Mailing Address:

City State: Zip Code: E-mail Address:

Physical Address: (If different from mailing):

City: State: Zip Code: 

County: Driver's License Number and State: Social Security Number: Date of Birth:

Weight: Height: Sex: Color of Hair: Color of Eyes:

Name, License # and Address of Contracting Company (Employer):

    TO BE COMPLETED BY CLASS A, B, C, D & H 

Has all documentation required by the Mississippi Electronic Protection Licensing Act Rules and 
Regulations been submitted with this application?       Yes       No 

Has the applicant been convicted of a felony, entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to a felony charge, or 
received a first-time offender pardon? For purposes of this question, applicant is an officer or principal of 
company applying for Class A license or individual applying for Class B, C, D & H license.       Yes       No 
(If you answered yes, a copy of court documents must be attached). 

I hereby certify that, under penalty of perjury, all of the information submitted in this application and attachments is true 
and complete. I authorize the State Fire Marshal to order fingerprints analysis, any other analysis or documents deemed 
necessary by the State Fire Marshal for verifying my criminal history. It is understood and agreed that said license, if issued, 
may be revoked by competent authority as provided by law.  

Name of Applicant:         _____________________________ Title: _____________________________________ 

Signature of Applicant:   _____________________________ Date: _____________________________________    

STATE OF __________________________________   COUNTY OF ________________________________________ 

Sworn to and subscribed before me this _________________day of ____________________, A.D., 20 ____. 

_____________________________________________ 
Notary Public 
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