STATE OF MISSISSIPPI
MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

IN THE MATTER OF WANDA CHANDLER,
Mississippi Privilege License No. 10229148

ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER

THIS CAUSE came on for hearing before the Commissioner of Insurance of the State of
Mississippi (hereinafter “Commissioner™), by and through his specially designated appointee,
Mark Lampton (hereinafter “Hearing Officer”), in the Office of the Commissioner, 10™ Floor,
Woolfolk State Office Building, 501 North West Street, Jackson, MS 39205, on Wednesday,
June 21, 2017, at 9:00 a.m., pursuant to an Amended Notice of Hearing and Statement of
Charges brought against Wanda Chandler (“Respondent™)} dated May 16, 2017, After service
and notice, Respondent appeared and gave testimony at the hearing, and was represented by
counsel, the Hon. Hiram C. Easﬂand, 111, who also attended and participated in the hearing. The
Commissioner of Insurance, based on the evidence presented at the hearing, makes the following

findings:

AUTHORITY AND STATEMENT OF CHARGES

1. 19 Miss. Admin. Code, Regulation 6-7.03 (Mississippi Insurance Department
Regulation 95-101) provides that any person, individual or corporation as defined in Miss. Code
§ 83-39-1 found in violation of Miss. Code § 83-39-7 by allowing Revocation Orders fo be sent
to the Mississippi Insurance Department may be fined as per the following schedule:

i, First order up to $500.00 fine
ii. Second order within twelve (12) months of first order up to a $1000.00

fine
iii. Third Order within twelve (12) months of first order up to $5000.00 fine
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and or up to six months license suspension
iv. Fourth Order within twelve (12) months of first order, the permanent
revocation of the professional bail agent’s license and/or up to $10,000.00
fine.
Any violation not covered may carry a fine of up to One Thousand Dollars ($1000.00) per
violation and/or license suspension.

2. Miss. Code § 83-39-15(1) (Supp. 2016) provides that the Commissioner of
Insurance may deny, suspend, revoke or refuse to renew, as may be appropriate, the license of
any person engaged in the business of professional bail agent if, after notice to the applicant or
licensee and to the insurer represented, if applicable, and hearing, said Commissioner finds the
applicant or licensee has committed a violation or violations of any one or more of the following

provisions:

(d): willful failure to comply with, or willful violation of, any provision of this chapter or of
any proper order, rule or regulation of the department or any court of this state.

Miss. Code § 83-39-15(3) (Supp. 2016) further authorizes the assessment of an administrative
fine in the amount of $1,000 per violation of the applicable statutes and regulations.

3. The Statement of Charges set forth in the Amended Notice of Hearing and
Statement of Charges, dated May 16, 2017, alleged as follows:

(a) It is charged that the Respondent is in violation of Mississippi Department of Insurance
Regulation 95-101, as the Respondent has allowed 15 Orders of Revocation, relating to the
below listed Defendants, to be sent to the Department. Regulation 95-101 allows the
Mississippi Department of Insurance to impose fines in the amounts set forth in Section 3 of
Regulation 95-101. In addition, Miss. Code Ann. § 83-39-29 (Supp. 2015), and other
pertinent code sections may impose additional penalties. Please see attached Exhibit “A,”
which Orders for Revocation of License Respondent caused to be sent to the Department.

(b) It is further charged that the Respondent is in violation of Miss. Code Ann. § 83-39-15 (1) (d)
(Supp. 2016) by willfully failing to comply with the above referenced statutes and
regulations in Charges I and II.




FINDINGS OF FACT

After considering all of the evidence and testimony presented, the Commissioner of
Insurance makes the following findings of fact:

1. The Respondent currently owns and operates a Bail Bond Agency known as A-
One Bail Bonds, LLC. The Respondent began participating in the bail bond industry by
obtaining a Bail Soliciting Agent’s license, which she held from the year 2011 through 2015.
During that time, Respondent was employed with A-One Bail Bonds, LLC, which was during
that time owned and operated by Rex Hollingsworth, who is her brother-in-law.

2. In January of 2015, Respondent became licensed as a Personal Surety Agent, and
took over ownership and control of A-One Bail Bonds, LLC. According to the testimony of the
Respondent, A-One Bail Bonds, LLC was subject to approximately two hundred fifty (250)
(asserted as an estimate) outstanding Judgment Nisi at the time she assumed control of
operations for A-One Bail Bonds, LLC. Of that estimated large number of Judgment Nisi, at
least fifteen (15) of those situations resulted in entry of Orders for Revocation of Qualification
Bond. According to records presented by Respondent at the hearing, Respondent did pay to the
appropriate jurisdictions the amounts of the outstanding revoked Qualification Bonds, the
payment occurring in most cases either before or within a month of Mississippi Insurance
Department’s receipt of the Order for Revocation of Qualification Bond from the various
jurisdictions at issue.

3. As of the date of the hearing, Respondent is believed to have satisfied all

outstanding Bond Revocations with the respective jurisdictions at issue.



CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

In light of the aforementioned findings of fact, the Commissioner of Insurance makes the
following conclusions of law:

1. The Respondent has committed fifteen (15) separate violations of Miss, Code §
83-39-15(1)(d) by allowing her qualification bond to be forfeited through fifteen (15) separate
Orders for Revocation of Qualification Bond. Despite action taken by the Respondent to cure
these Revocation Orders, the actions or omissions which led to the entry of such a high number
of Revocation Orders is a material breach of her obligations as a Personal Surety Agent in the
State of Mississippi.

2. Miss. Code § 83-39-7 requires the suspension of the Professional Bail Agent
license “until such time as another qualification bond in the required amount is posted with the
department”. In light of Respondent’s actions in curing the outstanding Revoked Bonds at issue,
Respondent’s qualification bond is currently posted in the required amount with the Mississippi
Insurance Department.

3. After due and careful consideration of the circumstances in this matter, including
all mitigating factors, there is sufficient justification to break from the standard schedule of
sanctions set forth in 19 Miss. Admin. Code, Regulation 6-7.03, and the following imposition of
sanctions is appropriate.

ORDER

IT IS, THEREFORE, ORDERED that an administrative fine of Two Thousand Dollars

($2,000) is hereby assessed to the Respondent, Wanda Chandler. Furthermore, the Respondent’s

license to act as a Personal Surety Agent in the State of Mississippi should be, and hereby is




revoked, however, such revocation is hereby suspended, and Respondent’s license is placed in
probationary status with the conditions that the Respondent must pay the administrative fine due
to the Mississippi Insurance Department within six (6) months from the date of this
Administrative Order, and also subject to the condition that the Respondent must not allow any
additional Revocations Orders be entered against her by any Court within six (6) months from
the date of this Administrative Order. If Respondent fails to comply with the conditions placed
upon the suspension of the revocation of her license as set forth herein, then the license of
Respondent shall be revoked without the necessity of further proceedings

Should the Respondent wish to appeal the Order of the Commissioner, she may follow
the procedure set forth in Miss, Code Ann. § 83-39-19.

SO ORDERED, this the { {3day of August, 2017.
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MIKE CHANEY-

Recommended By:

Mark Lampton
Hearing Officer




