BEFORE THE MISSISSIPPE INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT
STATE OF MISSISSIPPL

IN RE: MICHAEL D. MATTHEWS
Independent Adjuster License No. 10139398

FINAL ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER

THIS MATTER came on for hearing before the Commissioner of Insurance Qf the State
of Mississippi (hereinafter “Commissioner™), by and through his specially designated appointee,
the Hon. Brandon White (hereinafter “Hearing Officer™), in the Office of the Commissioner, on
Floor, Woolfolic State Office Building, 501 North West Street, Jackson, MS 39205, on
Wednesday, May 1, 2013, at 9:00 a.m., pursuant to a Notice of Hearing and Statement of
Charges brought against MICHAEL D. MATTHEWS (“Respondent”) dated March 20, 2013.
Respondent was properly served with and received notice of the hearing, however, Respondent
did not appear at the hearing and the hearing was had in the absence of Respondent. The
Commissioner, based on the evidence presented at the hearing, makes the following findings of

fact and conclusions of law:

L. The Respondent was the subject of a Final Decision and Order entered by the
‘Insurance Departiment of the State of Delaware, dated November 13, 2012, through which his

Delaware Producer License was revoked, and a fine was imposed in the amount of $500.00.

2. The Respondent is required by the provisions of Miss. Code § 83-17-81(1) (Supp.
2012} to report to the Mississippi Commissioner of Insurance “any administrative action taken
against the producer in another jurisdiction . . . within thirty (30) days of the final disposition of
the matter. This report shall include a copy of the initial compliant filed, the order resulting from

the hearing and any other relevant legal documents.”



,‘

3. The Respondent failed to notify the Office of the Mississippi Commissioner of
Insurance of the administrative action taken against him by the State of Delaware within the time
allowed by law. Consequently, the Respondent has violated the provisions of Miss. Code § §3-

17-81(1) (Supp. 2012}, and is subject to sanctions as provided in Miss. Code § 83-17-71 (Supp.

2012).

4. The Respondents current Independent Adjuster License with the State of

Mississippi expires on May 31, 20135,

ORDER
IT IS, THEREFORE, ORDERFED as follows:
1. That Respondent, Michael . Matthews, is hereby assessed a civil penalty in the
amount of $250.00 pursuant to the provisions of Miss. Code §83-17-71 (Supp. 2012).
2. That the Respondent’s Independent Adjuster License No. 10139398, or any other
privilege license through the Office of the Mississippi Insurance Commissioner, shall not be
issued or renewed unless and until the fine imposed herein has been paid in full.
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SO ORDERED, this the , day of May, 2013.

=~~~

MIKE CHANEY N%\
COMMISSIONER OF INSURANC

Recommended by:

Brandon White
Hearing Officer




