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HEALTH INSURANCE RATE INCREASES

BULLETIN 94-1

It has been brought to the attention of the Mississippi Department
of Insurance that some insurance companies selling health insurance
in the State of Mississippi are potentially in violation of
Mississippi's Unfair Trade Practices Act and Miss. Code Ann. §83-9-
303(Rev. 1991) and Regulation 73-4. The forementioned activities
include but are not limited to the following:

1. Implementing rate increases in excess of 25 percent
(25%);
2. Implementing rate increases without filing for

information purposes with the Mississippi Department
of Insurance;

3. Implementing rate increases in a discriminatory manner by
charging different rates for individuals in substantially
the same class with substantially similar policies.

Due to the forementioned problems the Honorable George Dale,
Commissioner of Insurance of the State of Mississippi, believes
that it would be in the best interest of the public and the State
of Mississippi to publish a bulletin to put all health insurance
companies on notice as to what the current and existing laws of the

State of Mississippi are and what companies must do to be in
compliance.

The Mississippi Department of Insurance is currently limiting
annual rate increases to no more than 25 percent (25%). The 25
percent (25%) annual limitation must include changes from all
sources, which would include experience and trend, attained age
premium increases and cost area changes. Thus, a combination of
increases arising from all sources may not exceed 25 percent (25%)
in any policy year for any insured.

In addition, the Mississippi Department of Insurance also requires
that rate filings on closed blocks of business include 1loss
experience on: (1) all forms which replaced the closed blocks in



the marketplace; and (2) all forms which provide for substantially
similar coverage and provisions, which are issued to substantially
similar risk classes and which are issued under substantially
similar underwriting standards.

The Department of Insurance has interpreted that all forms of each
of the following types must be grouped or aggregated for rate

increase purposes and that group policies and individual policies
must be kept separate:

Hospital Indemnity

Cancer and Specified Disease

Intensive Care

Major Medical and Comprehensive Medical
Disability Income

Medicare Supplement

AW

If an insurance company feels that a rate increase of more than 25
percent (25%) is justified, they should prepare to contact the
Commissioner of Insurance for a public hearing. In reviewing the
rate increase, the Commissioner will take into consideration the
solvency of the company, the sale of new business within the State
of Mississippi and the payment of stockholder dividends by the
company. The insurance company should also be prepared to discuss
why it is not discrimination to charge individuals of the same
class and of essentially the same hazard different premium rate and
be able to discuss as to why the rate increase would be in the best
interest of the policyholders in the State of Mississippi.

Any filing of a new form must include a list of all the old forms
which the new form is replacing as well as a listing of all forms
which were issued in the past on the same or similar type of
business. Current experience ratios on replaced and/or similar
forms should be included in the actuarial memorandum which
justifies the rates for the new form. The Mississippi Department
of Insurance requires as part of the actuarial memorandum for a
rate increase that the nationwide earned premiums be recomputed
assuming the rate increase requested in Mississippi had been used
nationwide. The actuarial memorandum should be prepared in
accordance with the Actuarial Standards of Practice.

The Mississippi Department of Insurance requires that all premiums
for all plans of insurance, group or individual, be filed for
informational purposes with the Department prior to use.
Furthermore, the Department of Insurance requires that rate
increases for all plans of health insurance, except for true group,
be filed with this Department prior to use.

Under Mississippi law premium rates may be changed only by an
endorsement which should contain at least the following: policy
number, effective date, and the amount and mode of the new premium.
The forementioned endorsement must also have a form number and be
executed by an officer of the company. Prior to using the said



endorsement it must be filed and approved by the Mississippi
Department of Insurance.

Under existing laws of the State of Mississippi policy fees on
health insurance are restricted to $6.00 or less and in no event
shall the policy fee exceed the premium collected with the initial
sale. The policy fee and the normal insurance premium are the only
fees which may be collected by the agent with the application. Any
reference to other fees such as membership, administration, dues,
set-up fees, etc., are not allowed on the application and must be
collected separate from the application. As previously mentioned,
the insurance agent should not collect those other types of fees.

These requirements apply to all individual forms and all group
forms, except true group forms. If the group certificate is issued
and underwritten on an individual basis; i.e., health questions are

asked of each insured; the group is subject to the requjrements of
this bulletin. ﬁ Q/ﬁ
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