
85101reg 
Part 6 Chapter 5: (85-101) Special Permanent License for Industrial Life, Health and Accident 
Insurance.   
 
Rule 5.01: Authority 
 
These rules and regulations are promulgated by the Commissioner of Insurance of the State of 
Mississippi to implement Sections 83-5-1, 83-17-107, 83-17-109, 83-17-129 and 83-19-
31(A)(5), Mississippi Code of 1972, as amended, and are being adopted pursuant to the authority 
granted the Commissioner of Insurance by Section 8-17-129, Mississippi Code of 1972, as 
Amended, and in accordance with Sections 25-43-1, et seq., Mississippi Code of 1972, as 
Amended known as the Mississippi Administrative Procedures Law. 
 
In consideration of the foregoing, I George Dale, Commissioner of Insurance of the State  of 
Mississippi do hereby promulgate and adopt the following rules and regulation with an effective 
date of December 1, 1985 and compliance with the applicable statutes. 
 
Source: Miss. Code Ann. §83-17-53 (Rev. 2011) 
 
Rule 5.02: Purpose 
 
The purposes of these rules and regulations are to establish pre-license requirements for 
applicants applying for a permanent privilege license to offer for sale and the selling of industrial 
life, accident and health insurance contracts within this State and to improve the competency of 
such applicants. 
 
Source: Miss. Code Ann. §83-17-53 (Rev. 2011) 
 
Rule 5.03: Applicability 
 
These rules and regulations shall apply to all resident and non-resident individuals who apply for 
a permanent agent’s privilege license to engage in the sale of industrial life, health and accident 
insurance. 
 
Source: Miss. Code Ann. §83-17-53 (Rev. 2011) 
 
Rule 5.04: Pre-License Requirements 
 
A prospective licensee for a permanent industrial life, health and accident license must meet the 
following pre-license requirements before an application for an examination can be submitted to 
the Home Service Life Insurers Council. 
 
A permanent Industrial Life, Health and Accident License Study Guide as approvedby the 
Mississippi Insurance Department, including any amendments, revisions, additions or 
modifications made to such Guide after the effective date of this regulation will be provided to 
the  prospective licensee by the Home Service Life Insurers Council. Prospective licensee must 



complete under the direction of a licensed industrial life, accident and health company five (5) 
hours of instruction utilizing the herein-described study guide in preparation for the examination. 
 
The licensed industrial company must declare on the application for examination that the 
applicant has completed the requirements as set forth above before an examination can be 
administered. 
 
Source: Miss. Code Ann. §83-17-53 (Rev. 2011) 
 
Rule 5.05: Definition of Special License 
 
Any agent who sells industrial life, health and accident policies (as defined by Section 83-19-31, 
Mississippi Code of 1972, as Amended), where benefits are equal to or less than $5,000 per 
policy for life insurance and disability benefits are equal to or less than $60.00 per week may be 
eligible for this license. 
 
Source: Miss. Code Ann. §83-17-53 (Rev. 2011) 
 
Rule 5.06: Administration Procedures and Examination Schedule 
 
Administration procedures and examination schedule for a License to write Permanent Industrial 
Life, Health and Accident Insurance administered by The Home Service Life Insurers Council: 
 

A. Upon request, the Home Service Life Insurers Council will provide study materials 
toapplicants to satisfy pre-license requirements. 
 

B. Applicants for examination will be mailed to the Secretary of the Home Service 
LifeInsurers Council. 

 
C. The Secretary will notify a member of HSLIC that an examination has been requestedand 

will set examination dates and notify the applicant of the date andplace of examination. 
 

D. Any member of the Home Service Life Insurers Council may administer the 
examinationand report such results to the Mississippi Department of Insurance on the 
forms prescribed and provided,  including amendments, revisions or modifications made 
thereto, for such purpose. 

 
E. Examinations will be administered every Monday at 1:00 P.M. except holidays. 

 
F. A member company cannot administer an examination to an applicant who is its 

 prospective employee unless there are other applicants who are prospective   
 employeesof other companies present also for the examination. 
 

G. Only members of the Home Service Life Insurers Council will be allowed to 
administerthe examination. 

 



H. The Secretary of the Home Service Life Insurers Council will be responsible for  
 coordinating the examination procedures and schedule for examinations. 
 

I. Examinations will be chosen by the member company from those approved by the 
 Mississippi Department of Insurance. 
 

J. The Home Service Life Insurers Council understands that the passage of this 
examinationdoes not constitute the automatic issuance of the above license and  that the 
applicant must satisfy any other requirements as set forth by the Mississippi Department 
ofInsurance and that the Mississippi Department of Insurance ahs the sole discretion for 
theissuance of the above license. 

 
Source: Miss. Code Ann. §83-17-53 (Rev. 2011) 
 
Rule 5.07: Separability 
 
If any provision of this regulation or the application thereof to any person or circumstance is for 
any reason held to be invalid, the remainder of these rules and regulations and the application of 
such provision to other persons or circumstances shall not be affected thereby. 
 
Source: Miss. Code Ann. §83-17-53 (Rev. 2011) 
 
Rule 5.08: Effective Date 
 
These rules and regulations shall be effective from and after December 1, 1985. 
 
Promulgated And Adopted this the 23rd day of October, 1985. 
 
Source: Miss. Code Ann. §25‐43‐3, 113 (Rev. 2010) 


