MIKE CHANEY Commissioner of Insurance



501 N. West St. 1001 Woolfolk State Office Building Jackson, MS 39201 P.O. Box 79 Jackson, MS 39205

PUBLIC ADJUSTER ENTITY LICENSING INSTRUCTIONS Effective July 1, 2016

- 1.) The public adjuster entity application must be completed in its entirety (all questions answered, signed and dated). This form shall be used to obtain a resident or non-resident public adjuster entity license.
- 2.) Privilege tax payments (license fees): \$400.00 (resident and non-resident). Renewal fees are the same. A late fee of \$200.00 is imposed if renewal paperwork is not received prior to the expiration date.
- 3.) For resident corporations, a complete copy of the corporate charter approved by the Mississippi Secretary of State's Office must be attached to the business entity's application.
- 4.) For resident partnerships, a copy of the certificate of limited partnership approved by the Mississippi Secretary of State's Office must be attached to the application.
- 5.) Non-Resident public adjusting entities are not required to submit a Letter of Certification from their home state department with an application as MID staff will verify home state licensure through the NAIC Producer Database. The name on the application must match the name in the producer database. Non-Resident public adjusting entities must hold a public adjuster entity license in their resident state. If a Non-Resident public adjusting entity's resident state does not offer public adjuster entity licenses, a letter must be provided from their Resident State Insurance Department stating licensure for public adjuster entity's to engage in the business of insurance in their state is not required.
- 6.) A minimum of one Mississippi-licensed public adjuster who is responsible for the public adjusting entities compliance with insurance laws, rules, and regulations of this state must be listed on the application.
- 7.) Public adjusting entities may have multiple locations without having to obtain multiple licenses. All branch locations must be listed on the original application as an attachment.
- 8.) License renewal notices will be mailed approximately 60 days prior to the license expiration.
- 9.) All public adjuster entity licenses will be issued on a biennial basis with an expiration date of May 31.