

501 N. West St. 1001 Woolfolk State Office Building Jackson, MS 39201 P.O. Box 79 Jackson, MS 39205

## VIATICAL SETTLEMENT PROVIDER LICENSING INSTRUCTIONS www.mid.ms.gov

- 1) Application must be completed in its entirety, signed and dated.
- 2) Privilege tax payment is \$200.00. Renewal fees: \$200.00.
- 3) A new application must be submitted if you fail to renew prior to the expiration date.
- 4) A detailed statement describing the business plan of operation.
- 5) Biographical affidavits for all officers, directors, and key employees of the provider.
- 6) If a legal (business) entity, a certificate of good standing from the state of its domicile.
- 7) A current/original certificate of good standing from the Mississippi Secretary of State's Office.
- 8) A current/original certificate of registration or exemption from registration under the Mississippi Securities Act from the Mississippi Secretary of State's Office. If the provider is buying policies, but not selling to investors, they may submit an affidavit to that effect in lieu of a certificate of registration or exemption under the Mississippi Securities Act.
- 9) Non-resident providers must attach a current/original letter of certification from their domiciliary state insurance department. If not so licensed, provide an explanation as to why not.
- 10) A minimum of one designated Mississippi licensed viatical settlement representative or broker responsible for the business entity's compliance with the insurance laws, rules and regulations of this state must be listed on the application.
- 11) Submit a written designation of an agent for service of process, using the NAIC Service of Process Form.
- 12) A copy of any applications, contracts, disclosure statements or other forms provided to viators.
- 13) Review separate guidelines for viatical settlement forms.
- 14) Business Entity Licenses expire on a fixed date. Viatical Settlement licenses expire December 31 of each year. If you wish to have a license for a full twelve month period, take note of these dates when applying.
- 15) For additional information, contact the Licensing Division at (601) 359-3582