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Part 4 Chapter 2:(2002-1) Non-Stacking Uninsured Motorist Insurance Coverage.  
 

Rule 2.01: Authority 
 
This Regulation is promulgated by the Commissioner of Insurance pursuant to the authority 
granted to him by Miss. Code Ann. § 83-5-1 and Miss. Code Ann. § 83-11-102 as enacted in the 
2002 Regular Session of the Mississippi Legislature, as well as the  provisions of the Mississippi 
Department of Insurance Regulation No. 88-101, and regulation being the Rules of Practice and 
Procedure before the Mississippi Insurance Department. 
 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 83-5-1; 83-11-102 (Rev 2011) 
 
 
 
 
Rule 2.02: Purpose 
 
The purpose of this Regulation is to provide a form for insurers to use in the course of the sale or 
issuance of multi-vehicle, non stacking uninsured motorist insurance coverage which informs the 
named insured or applicant of the limitation on stacking imposed and that such coverage is an 
alternative to coverage without such limitation in accordance with Miss. Code Ann. § 83-11-102 
 
Source:Miss. Code Ann. §83-11-102 (Rev. 2011) 
 
Rule 2.03: Coverages Under a Non-stacking Policy 
 
Insurers may offer multi-vehicle, non-stacking uninsured motorist insurance coverage to an 
insured in an automobile liability policy that covers ten (10) or more vehicles.  Insurers must 
offer uninsured motorist insurance that would cover bodily injury and property damage with 
limits no less than ten times those in the Mississippi Motor  Vehicle safety Responsibility Law in 
accordance with Miss. Code Ann. § 83-11-101 and  § 83-11-102. The Mississippi Motor Vehicle 
Safety Responsibility Law sets out minimum split limits of ten thousand dollars ($10,000) for 
bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident, twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) 
for bodily injury to or  death of two or more persons in any one accident, and five thousand 
dollars ($5,000) for injury to or destruction of property of others. 
 
Thus, the minimum an insurer must offer for a non-stacking uninsured motorist insurance policy 
is one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) for bodily injury to or death of one person in any one 
accident, two hundred thousand dollars ($200,000) for bodily injury to or death of two or more 
persons in any one accident, and fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) for injury to or destruction of 
property of others.  Should the minimum requirements in the Mississippi Motor Vehicle Safety 
Responsibility law be increased, the minimum limits for the non-stacking uninsured motorist 
coverage must be increased accordingly. 
 



Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 83-11-101; 83-11-102 (Rev. 2011) 
 
Rule 2.04: Disclosures of Limitations of Non-Stacking Policy 
 
A disclosure document containing the disclosures required in Miss. Code Ann. §  83-11-102 and 
this regulation shall be provided in the course of the sale or issuance of non-stacking uninsured 
motorist coverage.  Said disclosure document shall be in the form of the disclosure listed in 
Appendix A. 
 
Source: Miss. Code Ann. §83-11-102 (Rev. 2011) 
 
Rule 2.05: Severability 
 
If any provision of any section of this Regulation or the application thereof is held by a court to 
be invalid, such invalidity shall not affect any other provision of that section or application of the 
Regulation which can be given effect without the invalid provision  or application, and to this end 
the provisions of the Regulation are declared to be severable. 
 
Source:Miss. Code Ann.§83-5-1 (Rev. 2011) 
 
Rule 2.06: Effective Date 
 
The Effective Date of this Regulation shall be thirty (30) days from and after its adoption and 
filing with the Secretary of State’s Office of the State of Mississippi. 
 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §25-43-3.113 (Rev. 2010) 
 
Rule 2.07: Appendix A-Approved Form  

 
 

THIS FORM TO BE USED WHEN INSURED SELECTS NON-STACKABLE UM COVERAGE 
 

MISSISSIPPI NON‐STACKING 

UNINSURED MOTORIST INSURANCE 

(As Per House Bill 666, 2002, Miss Code 83‐11‐102*) 

 

Mississippi law* provides for an optional Non-stacking Uninsured Motorist Coverage available to an auto 
liability policy that covers ten (10) or more vehicles.  The Non-stacking Uninsured Motorist limits selected 
shall cover all vehicles listed in the policy and does not apply per vehicle.  The selection of this Non-
stacking coverage imposes a limitation on adding together or stacking of coverages.  If the insured selects 
the Non-stacking Uninsured Motorist Policy, in the event of an accident, the total limit of uninsured 
motorist coverage available from the policy will be only the one limit previously selected by the 
insured. It is an alternative to stackable uninsured motorist coverage where the coverage limits for 
each vehicle may be added together or stacked to determine the total coverage available. While only 
one limit of uninsured motorist coverage is available from a Non-stacking Uninsured Motorist policy, 



other limits of uninsured motorist coverage from other policies might be available to add to the single 
coverage available from the Non-stacking Uninsured Motorist policy depending upon the specific 
circumstances. 
 
The minimum limits required under Mississippi law for Non*stacking Uninsured Motorist Coverage is ten 
(10) times the limits required by the Mississippi Motor Vehicle Safety Responsibility Law.  Currently this 
law requires $10.000 per person, $20,000 per accident and $5,000 for property damage. 
 

I understand the limitations imposed by the Non-stacking Uninsured Motorist policy and that such coverage 
is an alternative to coverage without such limitation.  I further agree that acceptance of this limitation shall 
apply to any policy from the same insurer, including sister insurers in the same holding company, which 
renews the coverage, extends the coverage, or changes covered vehicles unless and until I make a written 
request for a change to stackable uninsured motorist coverage. 
 
Selection of Non-stacking Uninsured Motorist coverage is affirmed by your signature below. I select the 
following coverages at the limits shown below: 
 

  Non-stackable UM Bodily Injury and UM Property Damage at limits of ________per person/ 
__________per accident/___________property damage. 
 

  Non-stackable UM Bodily Injury Coverage (No property Coverage) at limits of _____per person 
/__________per accident. 
 

  Non-stackable Combined Single-limit UM Coverage (includes Bodily Injury and Property Damage 
Coverage together) at the limit of ____________per accident. 
 
Date:_______________                           Policy Number (if available):______________ 
 
Applicant Name (Print):_____________________ Address:__________________________________ 
                     _________________________________ 
             _________________________________ 
 
Signature of Applicant: _____________________ Proposed Effective Date of Coverage:_____________ 
        
Source: Miss. Code Ann. §83-11-102 (Rev. 2011) 
 
Rule 2.08:  2002-1. Regulation as Revised Form-Effective 1/1/06.  

 
 

 THIS FORM TO BE USED WHEN INSURED SELECTS NON-STACKING UM COVERAGE 
 

MISSISSIPPI NON-STACKING 
UNINSURED MOTORIST INSURANCE 

(As Per House Bill 666, 2002, Miss. Code 83-11-102*) 
(And as amended by HB 722, 2005, Mississippi Motor Vehicle Safety Responsibility Law) 

 
Mississippi law* provides for an optional Non-stacking Uninsured Motorist Coverage available to an auto 
liability policy that covers ten(10) or more vehicles.  The Non-stacking Uninsured Motorist limits selected 
shall cover all vehicles listed in the policy and does not apply per vehicle.  The selection of this Non-
stacking coverage imposes a limitation on adding together or stacking of coverages.  If the insured selects 
the Non-stacking Uninsured Motorist Policy, in the event of an accident, the total limit of uninsured 
motorist coverage available from the policy will be only the one limit previously selected by the 
insured. It is an alternative to stackable uninsured motorist coverage where the coverage limits for 



each vehicle may be added together or stacked to determine the total coverage available. While only 
one limit of uninsured motorist coverage is available from a Non-stacking Uninsured Motorist policy, 
other limits of uninsured motorist coverage from other policies might be available to add to the single 
coverage available from the Non-stacking Uninsured Motorist policy depending upon the specific 
circumstances. 
 
The minimum limits required under Mississippi law for Non-stacking Uninsured Motorist Coverage is ten 
(10) times the limits required by the Mississippi Motor Vehicle Safety Responsibility Law.  Currently this 
law requires $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident and $25,000 for property damage. 
 

I understand the limitations imposed by the Non-stacking Uninsured Motorist policy and that such coverage 
is an alternative to coverage without such limitation.  I further agree that acceptance of this limitation shall 
apply to any policy from the same insurer, including sister insurers in the same holding company, which 
renews the coverage, extends the coverage, or changes covered vehicles unless and until I make a written 
request for a change to stackable uninsured motorist coverage. 
 
Selection of Non-stacking Uninsured Motorist coverage is affirmed by your signature below. I select the 
following coverages at the limits shown below: 
 

  Non-stackable UM Bodily Injury and UM Property Damage at limits of ________per person/ 
__________per accident/___________property damage. 
 

  Non-stackable UM Bodily Injury Coverage (No property Coverage) at limits of _____per person 
/__________per accident. 
 

  Non-stackable Combined Single-limit UM Coverage (includes Bodily Injury and Property Damage 
Coverage together) at the limit of ____________per accident. 
 
Date:_______________                           Policy Number (if available):______________ 
 
 
Applicant Name (Print):____________________  Address: __________________________________ 
                __________________________________ 
                __________________________________ 
 
Signature of Applicant: ____________________   Proposed Effective Date of Coverage: _____________ 
 

Amended Form (Effective 1/1/06) 
 

Source:Miss. Code Ann. §83‐11‐102 (Rev. 2011) 


