2006 Mississippi Legislative Session - Department of Insurance - New Laws

HB 191 - Fire Trucks; Authorize Eighth Round for counties and cities under assistance program	Approved 3/15/2006 Effective 3/15/2006	Amends Sections 17-23-1, to provide for the eighth round of the Rural Fire Truck Fund.
HB 409 - Seat Belt Law; violation to be a primary offense.	Approved 2/7/2006 Effective 5/27/2006	Failure of a front seat passenger or a child under the age of over four but under eight years of age to be in a seat belt will be a primary traffic offense against the operator of the vehicle. Maximum fine will be \$25.00.
HB 542 - Board of Pharmacy; Pharmacy Benefits Managers Prompt Pay Act.	Approved 4/5/2006 Effective 6/30/2006	This bill extends the repealer on the Mississippi Pharmacy Practice Act. It also creates the Pharmacy Benefits Managers Prompt Pay Act which authorizes the Board of Pharmacy and the Department of Insurance to regulate Pharmacy Benefit Managers (PBM). The Department will be responsible for the financial regulation of the PBM by requiring annual statements and financial examinations of the PBM. This bill also requires PBM to pay clean claims within 15 days if submitted electronically and 35 days if submitted by paper.
HB 720 - Bail Agents; revise certain licensing requirements.	Approved 4/6/2006 Effective Upon Passage	Amends <u>Miss. Code Ann.</u> § 83-39-3 to require that the Commissioner may, after hearing, refuse to give a license to a limited surety agent if such agent owes money to an insurer for which he was appointed. Furthermore, 40 hours of pre-licensing must be completed prior to issuance of the license; the Professional Bail Agents Association is the sole entity that approves and conducts pre-licensing courses; however, the Department and the Professional Bail Agents Association both approve continuing education classes although only continuing education conducted by the Professional Bail Agents Association are allowed. All courses must be done by classroom; no correspondence or internet classes will be accepted.
HB 984 -Risk Retention Groups, Risk Purchasing Groups; delete annual fee	Approved 3/27/2006 Effective 7/1/2006	Amends <u>Miss. Code Ann.</u> § 83-55-16 to require a RRG and RPG to register with the Commissioner by March 1st of each year. If a RRG or RPG fail to do so, the Commissioner may remove them without notice or hearing. Also deletes the initial and annual registration fees.

HB 1280 - Motor Vehicle Salvage Certificates; revise requirements of Department of Public Safety for issuing certificates of inspection.	Approved 3/23/2006 Effective 7/1/2006	Amends <u>Miss. Code Ann.</u> § 63-21-15 and 63-21-39 to allow for a salvage vehicle to receive a clean title or branded title. Also, revises requirements of the Department of Public Safety to inspect vehicle to issue salvage clean title or branded title.
HB 1406 - Building Codes; require certain counties to adopt certain codes.	Approved 4/6/2006 Effective 7/1/2005	Act to require the six coastal counties to adopt certain wind and flood mitigation building requirements.
SB 2006 - Insurance coverage; require notice of cancellation to named creditor loss payee.	Approved 3/27/2006 Effective 7/1/2006	Bill amends <u>Miss. Code Ann.</u> §§ 83-5-28, 83-11-5, and 83-11-7 to require an insurance company to provide notice to a named creditor loss payee of a cancellation or nonrenewal of an insurance policy.
SB 2076 - Insurance agents; exempt from examination applicants for credit property license.	Approved 3/1/2006 Effective 3/1/2006	Amends <u>Miss. Code Ann.</u> § 83-17-39 to exempt from examination those applicants who shall be licensed only as a credit property producer.
SB 2332 - Mississippi Consumer Protection Act; prohibit rate increases on automobile liability for active military personnel.	Approved 3/1/2006 Effective 3/1/2006	Amends <u>Miss. Code Ann.</u> § 75-24-5 to prohibit an insurance company issuing a rate increase to reinstate an automobile policy if the insured was called to active military service and cancelled or nonrenewed the policy due to activation. The vehicle must not have been used during the time of cancellation/nonrenewal.
SB 2381 - Commissioner of Insurance; authorize alternative dispute resolution for personal lines insurance claims.	Approved 3/1/2006 Effective 3/1/2006	Authorizes the Commissioner to adopt rules and regulation for the establishment of alternative dispute resolution program for personal lines insurance claims.
SB 2382 - Insurance agent/producer licensing laws; make technical changes.	Approved 3/1/2006 Effective 7/1/2006	Amends <u>Miss. Code Ann.</u> §§ 83-17-5 and 83-17-75 to make typographical corrections.
SB 2424- Unauthorized insurance agents; extend repealer on law prohibiting commissions	Approved 3/1/2006 Effective 7/1/2006	Extends repealer on Miss. Code Ann. § 83-17-7 to July 1, 2010.
SB 2557 - Insurance premium finance law/sell of checks law' make technical changes	Approved 3/13/2006 Effective 3/13/2006	Amends <u>Miss. Code Ann.</u> § 81-21-21(1) to require an insurance company to return any unearned premiums to the premium finance company as soon as reasonable possible instead of previous twenty (20) day requirement.

SB 2742- Electronic Protection Licensing Act	Approved 4/3/2006 Effective 7/1/2006	State Fire Marshal shall establish rules and regulations for the licensure of individuals and companies that offer electronic protective systems to the general public. Said licensure shall require continuing education and annual licensure. Establishes an advisory board to assist the State Fire Marshal in developing the rules and regulations.
--	---	---