2004 Mississippi Legislation - Department of Insurance - New Laws

HB 343 - Larger fraternal benefit societies;
includes under definition of insurer.

Approved 4/19/2004
Effective 7/1/2004

Includes larger fraternal benefits societies to the definition of an
insurer. §83-1-151(a)(ii

HB 522- Life Insurance; provide that the proceeds
become due as of the date of the death of the
insured.

Approved 5/14/2004
Effective 5/14/2004

Life insurance proceeds become due as of the date of the death of the
insured. Interest payable from the time of death to the time of payment
will be computed at the rate of interest stated in policy; or at the rate of
interest said proceeds are on deposit; or at the current rate of interest,
whichever is greater. This statue will not apply to policies that are less
than $5000 or credit life policies. New Statute.

HB 581 - Mississippi Fire Prevention Code;
require compliance for permits to construct private
correctional facilities. :

Approved 4/20/2004
Effective 7/1/2004

Requires the State Fire Marshal's Office to review and approve all
construction plans for all new constructions for private correctional
facilities that house state inmates and any other type of building plans
upon request by an interested person, unless the building is located in a
county or municipality which has an adopted fire prevention code not
less stringent than the Mississippi Fire Prevention Code. Also, the
State Fire Marshal's Office must inspect or investigate a building of
public assembly upon request by an interested person or if the State
Fire Marshal's Office believes an inspection is in the public interest.

§45-11-101.

HB 605 - Fire detectors; require all hotels and Approved 4/20/2004 Require all hotels and lodging houses to have Mississippi Fire

lodging houses to have Mississippi Fire Prevention | Effective 7/1/2004 Prevention Code approved fire detectors on every floor. §45-11-29.

Code-approved. Increased penalties of hotel and lodging house proprietors to have the
statutorily required fire protection and detection devices. § 45-11-49.
Repealed § 45-11-31.

HB 676 - Fireworks; permits to sell must be in Approved 4/20/2004 County or municipality may issue a permit for fireworks exhibition if

compliance with certain fire codes. Effective 7/1/2004 said permit is issued in compliance with Section 1123 of the National

Fire Protection Association and the Mississippi Fire Prevention Code.

§45-13-11.




HB 1436 - Rural Fire Truck Program; authorize Approved 4/27/2004 Authorizes Round Seven of the Rural Fire Truck Program. §17-23-1.

Department of Insurance to accept application for | Effective 7/1/2004 .

seventh round.

SB 2146- Bail agents; revise the amount of the Approved 4/20/2004 As of 7/1/2004, all professional bail agents, personal sureties

qualification bond required for agents who act as Effective 7/1/2004 applicants shall post a $15,000 qualification bond. After 7/1/2005, all

personal surety. applicants shall post a qualification bond of $20,000. After 7/1/2006,
all applicants shall post a qualification bond of $25,000. After
7/1/2007, all applicants shall post a $30,000 qualification bond. § 83-
3-7.

SB 2393 -- MS Fire Personnel Minimum Approved 5/12/2004 Changes the composition of the Minimum Standards Board from 17

Standards and Certification Board; revise Effective 7/1/2004 members to 11 members. §45-11-251.

composition of.

SB 2394 - Insurance rebate monies; request Approved 5/6/2004 Bill accomplishes three things: (1) If a county is unable to expend all

investigation if use is inconsistent with state law. Effective 7/1/2004 fire rebate monies in a fiscal year; the county may keep the money for
future use if it submits a written plan for said monies to the
Commissioner and the Commissioner approves the plan. (2) Changes
the requirement for a member of Sheriffs' Office to attend the State
Fire Academy; now may attend mandatory training offered by State
Fire Marshal's Office; (3) If the Department has reason to believe a
county is not using fire rebate monies pursuant to statute, the
Department may request an investigation by the State Auditor._§ 83-1-
39.

SB 2450 - Industrial fire insurance policies; allow | Approved 5/6/2004 Adds burglary and theft to industrial fire line. § 83-19-1. Limits

coverage for burglary and theft. Effective 7/1/2004 recovery from burglary and theft under an industrial fire policy to
$20,000. § 83-13-17.

SB 2613 - Fire Safety Division; create in State Approved 4/20/2004 Creates a new division in the State Fire Marshal's Office called the Fire

Fire Marshal's Office. Effective 7/1/2004 Safety Division New Statute.

SB 2684 - Liquified Compressed Gas Board, Approved 4/12/2004 Changes the board composition to seven members - one from each

revise composition. Effective 7/1/2004 Congressional District and three at large members. § 75-57-101.




