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2023 Mississippi Legislative Session - Department of Insurance – Legislative Summary 
 
General: 
 

 
HB 1084 - Insurance agents; revise the continuing 
education requirements of those who are 65 and 
have been licensed for 20 years. 

 
Approved:  4/17/2023 
Effective:   4/17/2023 

 
Amends § 83-17-251 to provide that any individual who is 65 years of 
age or older and who has been licensed as an insurance producer for a 
continuous period of 25 years or more may be exempt from insurance 
producer continuing education requirements.  

• See also, MID Bulletin 2023-4, which provides insurance 
producers with guidance regarding compliance with the 
exemption.  

 
HB 1162 – Reciprocal insurance; revise sworn 
declaration requirements of and board of directors 
for. 

 
 
Approved:  3/3/2023 
Effective:   7/1/2023 

 
 
Amends §§ 83-33-5 and 83-33-23 to revise the sworn declaration 
requirements and board of directors requirements for reciprocal 
insurance companies. 

 
SB 2227- Federal Home Loan Banks; provide 
certain rights and procedures regarding collateral. 

   
Approved:  3/10/2023 
Effective:   7/1/2023 

  
Amends §§ 83-24-7; 83-24-11; 83-24-29; 83-24-41; 83-24-51; and 83-
24-55 to provide that any collateral owned by a federal home loan 
back as chartered under the Federal Home Loan Bank Act is given 
preference in an insurance insolvency action. 

 
Health: 
 
 

 
HB 1190 - Health benefit plan; authorize plan 
sponsor the authority to consent, on behalf of 
covered pensions, to delivery of all 
communications by electronic means.. 

 
 
Approved:  3/13/2023 
Effective:   7/1/2023 

 
Provides that a plan sponsor of a health benefit plan may, on behalf of 
covered persons in the plan, provide the consent required in the 
Mississippi Insurance E-Commerce Model Act for the electronic 
delivery of all communications related to the plan, providing that an 
individual plan member may have the ability to opt-out of electronic 
delivery. 
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SB 2212 - Recipients of Medicaid; extend 
postpartum coverage up to 12 months. 
 
 

 
 
Approved:  3/16/2023 
Effective:   7/1/2023 

 
Amends § 43-13-115 to authorize and direct the Division of 
Medicaid to provide up to 12 months of continuous coverage 
postpartum for any individual who qualifies for Medicaid as a 
pregnant woman to the extent allowable under federal law. 

 
SB 2615 - Contract personnel; authorize to 
purchase base plan of the State and School 
Employees' Health Insurance Plan. 
 
 

  
Approved:   3/21/2023 
Effective:    7/1/2023 
 

 
Amends §§25-15-3 and 25-9-120 to revise certain provisions to 
authorize contract workers employed by the State or other 
government entities to purchase the base plan of the State and School 
Employee’s Health Insurance Plan if such person pays the full price 
of such plan without contribution from their employer. The bill also 
requires such government entities to offer this to any contract 
personnel who works at least 130 hours per month. 

 
SB 2623 - Mississippi State and School 
Employees' Life and Health Insurance Plan Task 
Force; establish.  

  
Approved:   3/10/2023 
Effective:    7/1/2023 
       

 
Creates §25-15-22 establishing the Mississippi State and School 
Employees’ Life and Health Insurance Plan Task Force to study, 
report, and make recommendations regarding such insurance plans. 
The Task Force is to study, report and make recommendations on the 
health plan, including suggesting legislation, and submit a report to 
the Lt. Gov., Speaker of the House, and Education Committee Chairs 
by 11/1/23. 

 
 
Property and Casualty: 
 

  
HB 544 - Valued policy law; exempt builder's risk 
insurance policies from. 

 
Approved:  3/22/2023 
Effective:   3/22/2023 

 
Amends Mississippi's valued policy law, Miss. Code Ann. § 83-13-5 
to specifically exclude builders risk policies from the Valued Policy 
Law. 

• Bill was in response to a recent court case, Mears v. Jones 
which held that the Valued Policy Law applied to Builders 
Risk Policies. 

• Under the Valued Policy Law, if the anticipated value of a 
structure upon completion is $300,000, and the property is 
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insured under a Builders Risk Policy for that amount, if after 
10 days of construction there is $15,000 work of framing 
completed that is destroyed by fire, the insured would receive 
$300,000 instead of the actual value of the property at the 
time, which is $15,000. 

• Passage of HB 544 alleviates this matter by exempting 
builders risk policies from § 83-13-5. 
 

 
SB 2228 – Pet insurance; establish provisions for 
the sale and renewal of policies. 
 
 

 
Approved:  3/10/2023 
Effective:   7/1/2023 

 
Provides for the sale, issuance and renewal of pet insurance policies; 
includes the requirement for pet insurance providers to disclose certain 
policy exclusions and limitations to consumers; allows for any 
insurance producer authorized in a major line of authority and 
appointed by a pet insurance to sell, solicit or negotiate a pet insurance 
product. 

• See also, 19 Miss. Admin. Code, Part 5, Chapter 6: Pet 
Insurance Regulation for additional guidance. 

 
 
 
Fire Marshal/Fire Services: 
 

 
HB 521 - Length of Service Award Program; 
authorize for the recruitment and retention of 
volunteer firefighters. 

 
Approved:  4/17/2023 
Effective:   7/1/2023 

 
Authorizes the MID to create the Mississippi Length-of-Service 
Award Program (LPSAP) for the recruitment and retention of 
volunteer firefighters by establishing a defined contribution service 
award for volunteer firefighters in MS. The bill also establishes a 
LOSAP Board of Trustees that with MID will administer the program, 
and creates the LOSAP Fund.  
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Appropriation: 
 

 
HB 1605 – Appropriation, Department of 
Insurance. 
      

 
Approve:  4/19/2023 
Effective:  7/1/2023 

 
$16M appropriation to the Department of Insurance. Bill includes $9M 
to the Annual Fire Fund (which includes RFTAAP); $2M for 
RFTMAF; $50,000 for the purchase of smoke alarms; and $3M for the 
funding of LOSAP, as established in HB 521. 
 

   
HB 1606 – Appropriation, State Fire Academy.  

 
Approve:  4/19/2023 
Effective:  7/1/2023 
 

 
$6.3M total appropriation to the State Fire Academy.  
 

 


