
SUBSMISSION REQUIREMENTS FOR ACCIDENT AND HEALTH POLICIES 

 

All accident and health policies must comply with the following provisions. Medicare supplement 

policies, long term care policies and credit life and disability policies must comply with the appropriate 

provisions for those types of policies, except where differences are noted. Where used, the term policy 

also includes any riders and/or endorsements. These requirements apply to all policies and/or 

certificates delivered in or issued for delivery in Mississippi. 

 
All accident and health insurance policies delivered in or issued for delivery in Mississippi must 

comply with all Federal health insurance requirements, including those required in the Health 

Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996, the Newborn’s and Mother’s Health Protection 

Act of 1996, the Mental Health Parity Act of 1996 and the Women’s Health and Cancer Rights Act of 

1998. 

 
At the time of initial filing of all policies and/or certificates, the premium rates must be filed, along 

with an actuarial memorandum, showing the derivation of the premiums.  The actuarial memorandum 

must specifically state all actuarial assumptions and the expected lifetime loss ratio (including a 

durational loss ratio exhibit). All rate increases must be filed, along with an actuarial memorandum 

justifying the rate increase. All rate increases must use an amendment to implement the rate increase, 

in accordance with Regulation 73-4. The amendment must be filed for approval prior to use. For the 

specific information to be included in the actuarial memorandum justifying the rate increase, refer to 

attachments, MSRATE and Form RII 7/02. 

 
Section 83-9-3 contains the following requirements that must be included in the policy 

and/or certificate: 

 The policy, attached application and any riders or endorsements constitute the entire policy. 

The effective date and termination date of the policy must be shown. 

 Any exceptions and/or reductions must be stated in the policy. 

 The form number must be specified in the lower left hand corner of the policy. 

 

Section 83-9-5 contains the following required and optional provisions: Required Provisions that 

must be included in the policy and/or certificate: 

 Entire contract. The policy, including any attached papers, constitutes the entire contract. No 

agent may waive or alter any provisions. 

 Time Limit on Certain Defenses. There is a two year limit. 

 Grace Period. The minimum grace period is 31 days (7 days for weekly premium policies and 

10 days for monthly premium policies). 

 Reinstatement. 

 Notice of Claim. 30 days 

 Claim Forms. Must be provided within 15 days.  

 Proofs of Loss. Must be provided within 90 days.  

 Time of Payment of Claims (revised July 1, 2019). Claims must be paid within 25 days of 



completed proof of loss in the form of a clean claim where claims are submitted electronically, and 

within 35 days of completed proof of loss in the form of a clean claim submitted in paper format;  if 

not paid within applicable time period, interest is due at the rate of 3% per month accruing from day 

after payment was due until paid; insured must have the right to bring action for treble 

damages.  Note:  While in the past MID had allowed significant divergence from the language of 

this section so long as key elements were included, with the recent revisions we are now requiring 

this provision to include the entirety of the revised 83-9-5 (1)(h), with the exception of 

subparagraph 2 if no periodic benefits are provided.   

 Payment of Claims 

 Physical Examination. Insurer has the right to examine the insured. There can be no mention 

of autopsy in the policy. 

 Legal Actions. Time specified cannot be less than 3 years.  

 Change of Beneficiary. 
 

 

Optional Provisions that may be included in the policy and/or certificate:  

 

 Change of Occupation. 

 Misstatement of Age. 

 Relation of Earnings to Insurance. 

 Unpaid Premiums. Cancellations. 

 Conformity with State Statutes. Illegal 

Occupation. 

 Intoxicants and Narcotics. 

 
Other Miscellaneous Requirements: 

 Section 83-9-6.  Requires freedom of choice for consumer on pharmacy when health plan provides 

for pharmaceutical services benefits. 

 Section 83-9-8. Cannot exclude drugs used for treatment of cancer even if drug not approved by 

FDA. Section 83-9-11. Insured is not bound by any statement unless application is attached to and 

made a part of the policy. 

 Section 83-9-25. Insured has 10 days to examine policy. 

 Section 83-9-27. Alcoholism to be treated as any other illness under group policies and does not 

need to exceed $1,000 per calendar year. 

 Section 83-9-32. Optional mandate that insurer must provide anesthesia benefits for dental 

treatment of children or mentally handicapped adult insureds. 

 Section 83-9-33. Must provide coverage for newly born children. 

 Section 83-9-34. Optional mandate to provide coverage for child immunizations. 

 Sections 83-9-39 and 83-9-41. Optional mandate for mental illness coverage. Insured must 

decline the coverage. 

 Section 83-9-45. Required mandate to cover TMJ, up to $5,000 lifetime maximum.  

 Section 83-9-46. Optional mandate to provide coverage for diabetes. 

 Section 83-9-49. Pre-existing conditions exclusion. Group health insurance policies must contain 



a pre- existing condition period prior to the effective date of not more than 6 months and after the 

effective date of not more than 12 months. Individual health insurance policies must have a pre-

existing condition period prior to the effective date of not more than 12 months and after the 

effective date of not more than 12 months. Limited benefit policies and specified disease policies 

are exempt from these requirements. 

 

 Departmental Requirement. Individual limited benefit policies and specified disease policies 

must have a pre-existing condition period prior to the effective date of not more than 60 months and 

after the effective date of not more than 24 months. Group limited benefit policies and specified 

disease policies must have a pre-existing condition period prior to the effective date of not more 

than 12 months and after the effective date of not more than 12 months. 

 

 Medicare Supplement and Long Term Care Policies and/or Certificates. Medicare Supplement 

and long term care policies must contain a pre-existing condition period prior to the effective date 

of not more than 6 months and after the effective date of not more than 6 months. 

 Section 83-9-108. Optional mandate to provide mammography coverage. 

 Section 83-41-203. Benefits for optometrists are required to be covered, if policy provides 

for reimbursement. 

 Section 83-41-205. Individual medical policies shall provide for continuation of coverage for 

physically handicapped and mentally retarded persons. 

 Section 83-41-207.  Group medical policies shall provide for continuation of coverage for 

physically handicapped and mentally retarded persons. 

 Section 83-41-209. Provides for beneficiaries’ freedom of choice of practitioners in performance 

of dental services. Cannot be any difference for reimbursement for services from non-network 

providers and network providers. 

 Section 83-41-211. Provides for beneficiaries’ freedom of choice of practitioners in treatment of 

mental, nervous or emotional disorders. 

 Section 83-41-213. The definition of physician is required to include nurse practitioners.  

 Section 83-41-217. Provides for direct access to obstetricians/gynecologists as primary care 

physicians.  

 Accidental Death Benefits. No aggregate limit may be placed on accidental death benefits. 

 Section 83-9-33. Coverage for children must be from birth.  

 Handicapped Children. Handicapped children must be covered. 

 Regulation 88-101. Individual policies may not coordinate against other insurance policies. 

 Return of Premium Benefit. All return of premium benefits must provide for values prior to the 

end of the period for which 100% of the premiums will be returned. Insurer must provide an 

actuarial memorandum detailing the calculation of the values. 

 Subrogation. No policy may subrogate until the insured has been made whole for the loss.  

 Mental  Illness. Mental illness must be covered on an optional basis, subject to Federal 

mandates. Applicable policies and/or certificates must comply with the Mental Health Parity Act of 

1996. 

 Section 83-41-215 and Regulation 88-103. The definition of physicians must include 

chiropractors. Benefits for chiropractors may not be limited, unless benefits for all other specialties 



are also limited. 

 Binding Arbitration. Requirements contained in the Departmental Guidelines and 

Requirements for Approval of Binding Arbitration Provisions in Insurance Policies. 

 Rate Increases. All health insurance rate increases (group and individual) are subject to Bulletin 94-

1 and Regulation 73-4. An endorsement must be used to implement all rate increases subject to 

Bulletin 94-1. All rate increases must be accompanied by a signed actuarial memorandum.  

 Section 83-51-11. Payment or reimbursement for a non-participating dentist shall be the same as 

payment or reimbursement for a participating dentist. Insured must have freedom of choice of 

dentist. Company may not prevent any dentist from becoming a participating dentist. 

 Section 83-1-101.  Policies Issued to Non-Mississippi Domiciled Trusts or Associations.  All 

policies and/or certificates delivered in or issued for delivery in Mississippi must be filed for review 

and must comply with all Mississippi laws and regulations. 

 Regulation 2000-2. All health insurance policies and/or certificates delivered in or issued for 

delivery in Mississippi must comply with the Federal Newborn’s and Mother’s Health Protection Act 

of 1996.  

 Regulation 2000-3. All health insurance policies and/or certificates delivered in or issued for 

delivery in Mississippi must comply with the Federal Women’s Health and Cancer Rights Act of 

1998.  

 Regulation 2000-5. All applicable health insurance policies and/or certificates delivered in or issued 

for delivery in Mississippi must comply with the Federal Health Insurance Portability and 

Accountability Act of 1996. All major medical and comprehensive policies must be guaranteed 

renewable as required by HIPAA. 

 Regulation 99-3. All health insurance policies and/or certificates issued or delivered in Mississippi 

must provide at time of delivery of the policy and/or certificate a Summary Document in the form 

prescribed outlining the general purposes and current limitations of the Guaranty Association. 

 Section 83-9-101 and Regulation 96-103, as Amended. Initial premiums on all health insurance 

policies and/or certificates are required to be filed. Individual Medicare Supplement policies must 

have at least a lifetime loss ratio of 65%. Group Medicare Supplement policies must have at least a 

lifetime loss ratio of 75%. Individual long term care policies must have at least a lifetime loss ratio 

of 60%. All rates filed must be accompanied by a signed actuarial memorandum. 

 Conditional Receipts. If an insurance company uses a conditional receipt, it must comply with 

Regulation 79-001. 

 Long Term Care. All long term care insurance coverage must comply with Mississippi long term 

care insurance policy minimum standards as found in Regulation 90-102. 

 Medicare Supplement Insurance.  All Medicare Supplement insurance policies must comply 

with Mississippi Medicare Supplement minimum standards as found in Section 83-9-101, et seq and 

Regulation 96-103, as amended. 


