

MISSISSIPPI INSURANCE DEPARTMENT

> MIKE CHANEY Commissioner of Insurance and State Fire Marshal

PRESS RELEASE Media Contact: Donna Cromeans 601-359-3569 Donna.Cromeans@mid.ms.gov

## **For Immediate Release**

## May 4, 2016

## **FEMA Extends Proof of Loss Deadline**

## for March Flood Claims

Jackson, MS – Mississippi victims of March flooding now have more time to file their required Proof of Loss form. Commissioner of Insurance Mike Chaney announced today that FEMA has granted a request for an extension to the usual 60-day proof of loss deadline.

With this extension, flood victims from flooding that occurred between March 7 and March 19, 2016, and who had difficulty filing claims within the normal period because they were unable to access NFIP insured buildings due to damage to infrastructure or high water will now have a total of 120 days from the date of loss to file. For example, an NFIP policyholder who suffered a loss on March 7, 2016 now has until July 6, 2016 to file their form.

"Mississippi flood victims will now have some relief during the difficult times that come with flood recovery," Commissioner of Insurance Mike Chaney said.

"This extension is much needed and serves as a strong reminder how important it is for every Mississippian to consider flood insurance."

Filing the Proof of Loss is necessary even after filing a claim for flood damage. The Proof of Loss is a sworn statement of the amount a policyholder is claiming including necessary supporting documentation. The form must contain specific details required by the Standard Flood Insurance Policy. This document substantiates the insurance claim and is required before the NFIP can make payment.

Mississippians needing to file a Proof of Loss form with the NFIP should contact their agent or call the NFIP Claims Call Center at 1-800-621-3362.