Mississippi Conveyance Safety Act
Building Owner Responsibilities

The following was taken directly from the Rules and Regulations of the Mississippi Conveyance Safety Act.
Rule 1.22: Responsibilities of the Building Owner
(1) The building owner shall:

(a) obtain the services of an inspector registered with the department to perform inspections in accordance with this
Regulation;

(b) keep the equipment free from reportable conditions;

(c) have all violations cited on an inspection report:

(i) corrected within thirty (30) calendar days of the date of inspection;

(i) have them under contract to be corrected and all work completed no later than the next inspection due date; or
(iii) have an approved waiver or delay.

(2) The owner of the building in which equipment is located shall have such equipment inspected at an interval not
to exceed every twelve (12) months to determine compliance with the applicable standards adopted in this
Regulation.

(3) The owner of the building in which the equipment is located must make available to the department and all
elevator personnel all maintenance and inspection records and maintenance control programs for the equipment
during the life of the equipment as required by the applicable standards adopted in this Regulation. These records
and programs shall be available in the building.

(4) The building owner or the owner’s representative must report all accidents, involving equipment to the
department, using a department-approved form, within 72 hours of the accident. If the accident results in serious
bodily injury or a fatality, the equipment shall be removed from service and shall not be moved (except as necessary
to extricate an injured party or effect a life-saving rescue) or returned to service until a representative of the
department completes an investigation and issues an approval to return the unit to service.

(5) The building owner shall ensure that all of the tests required by the applicable codes and standards adopted in this
Regulation are performed.

(6) If any equipment is determined to have a reportable condition by inspection or other means, the building owner
shall notify the department in writing within 24 hours, and shall place the unsafe equipment out of operation until
repairs to correct the reportable condition(s) are completed. After repairs have been completed, the building owner
shall have the equipment re-inspected and re-certified and submit written verification to the department that the
reportable condition has been corrected before returning the equipment to service.

(7) New equipment installations must have plans reviewed by the department and must be inspected and tested to
determine their safety and compliance with the requirements of the codes and standards as adopted in this Regulation
before being placed in service. The equipment shall be free of any violations, unless a waiver, delay or new
technology variance has been granted by the department in writing, before being placed in service.



(8) Altered equipment must have plans reviewed by the department and must be inspected and attested to determine
its safety and compliance with the requirements of the codes and standards as adopted in this Regulation before
being placed back in service. The equipment shall be free of any violations, unless a waiver, delay or technology
variance has been granted by the department in writing, before being placed back into service.

(9) Equipment must be tested to determine its safety and compliance with the requirements of the codes and
standards as adopted in this Regulation.

(10) The building owner must obtain a yearly certificate of compliance from the department evidencing that each
unit of equipment in the building is in compliance with the Regulation and all applicable rules and standards. The
building owner must have a current certificate of compliance in order to operate equipment located in the building.
(11) The building owner must display the current certificate of compliance in the following locations:

(a) if the certificate relates to an elevator:

(i) inside the elevator car not more than 7°0” or less than 3”0 above the finished care floor;

(ii) outside the elevator car in the main elevator lobby within 10 feet of the elevator call button; or

(iii) in a common area lobby or hallway location that is:

(A) accessible to the public without assistance or permission during all hours in which any elevator is in operation;
and

(B) identified by a plaque mounted in the elevator car or within 10 feet of the elevator call button in the main
elevator lobby. The font size for letters on the plaque shall be at least 18 and the plagque must state that the elevator is
regulated by the Mississippi Department of Insurance and include the department’s telephone number (800) 562-
2957 for in-state calls and (866) 856-1982 for out of state calls and the building management’s telephone number.
(b) if the certificate relates to an escalator — in a common area lobby or hallway location that is:

(i) accessible to the public without assistance or permission during all hours in which any escalator is in operation;
and

(i) identified by a plague mounted within 10 feet of entry or exit of escalator in the main escalator lobby. The font
size for letters on the plaque shall be at least 18 and the plaque must state that the escalator is regulated by the
Mississippi Department of Insurance and include the Department’s telephone number (800) 562-2957 for in-state
calls and (866) 856-1982 for out of state calls and the building management’s telephone number.

(c) if the certificate relates to a chairlift, platform lift, automated people mover operated by cables, moving sidewalk,
or related equipment — on the box containing the control circuitry.

(12) The building owner must display an inspection report until a current certificate of compliance is issued by the
Administrator.

(13) The building owner must have equipment re-inspected and re-certified if the equipment:
(a) has been altered;
(b) has been determined to have a reportable condition;

(c) has had any alteration made to the interior of elevator car enclosures or flooring; or



(d) inspection report show an existing violation has continued longer than permitted in a delay granted by the
executive director.

(14) The building owner shall have copies of all current department issued waivers, delays and new technology
variances posted in the machine room/machinery space in a readily accessible and visible location available to
elevator personnel.

(15) Any building owner who shall violate any of the provisions of the Mississippi Safety Conveyance Act shall be
fined an amount not to exceed One Thousand Five Hundred Dollars ($1,500.00).

Source: Miss. Code Ann. 88 45-45-13; 83-5-1 (Supp. 2013)



