Regulation LA&H 73-5

EVELYN GANDY ! WOOLEY D.B0OX
ZOMMISSIONER

DEPUTY COMMISSIONER

STATE OF MISSISSIPP!

JACKSON

November 6, 1973

TO: A1l Persons And Associations Operating Under The Burial
Insurance Laws Of The State Of Mississippi

FROM: Evelyn Gandy
Commissioner of Insurance

SUBJECT: Rules And Regulations Promulgated In Connection With

House Bi11 No. 424, Mississippi Legislature, Regular
Session, 1973.

IMPORTANT: Policies issued and in force prior to January 1, 1974 (or
subject to reinstatement by that date) are not covered by rules and

regulations herein, nor are such policies subject to the new law as to
form and/or rate.

1. As of January 1, 1974, all policy forms and rates now approved
and in use are hereby DISAPPROVED, and no policy form or rate can
be used after January 1, 1974, without approval of the Department
of Insurance under the provisions of the new law.

2. No two or more burial associations, partnerships, corporations,
etc. under the same ownership, management or agency shall have
competitive rates for the same or comparable benefits, regardless
of location of servicing funeral hame.

3. No rate will be approved which is Tower than the minimum rates
shown on the attached schedule, which 1ists the long-established
minimum rates approved by the Insurance Department many years ago.
Rates above those shown on the attached schedule will be considered
when supporting information clearly shows such rates to be neither
inadequate nor excessive. '




4. Associatjons, partnerships, corporations, etc. writing policies
of varying amounts with varying rates may use a standard policy
form, provided the completed policy contains the inserted figures
relative to name, ages, benefits and rate for each person insured.
Further, in the event a standard form is to be used for more than
$150.00 benefit, additional rate schedule must be printed in the
policy form. (For example, a policy issued providing benefits
ranging $150.00, $300.00 and $450.00, may leave the total benefit
in the blank, but the policy form must contain the schedule of
rates applicable to all three benefits).

5. Submission of policy forms and rates can begin upon receipt of
this notice. Each form must have in the lower left hand corner
some means of identification such as a number, a letter and a
date. (For example, A-9-73, which would indicate the form A
was submitted in September 1973). Please attach a rate card to
each form placing the same identification on the rate card. Sub-
mit one copy each of the form and rate with a letter of trans-
mittal, in duplicate. Said letter of transmittal must contain
a detailed description of the form(s) submitted, including type
of contract, form number, etc., and the date you will begin using
the new form(s), if prior to January 1, 1974. The form and rate
will be retained in the Department, and the copy of the letter of
transmittal will be returned to the association with the stamp of
approval of the Department.

These rules and regulations shall become effective November 6, 1973.

PROMULGATED AND ADOPTED, THIS THE _ 6th day of November, 1973.

EVELYN GANDY

COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE
STATE OF MISSISSIPPI



EVELYN BANDY
COMMIBRIONER *

WOOLEY D.BGX
DERUTY COIMMISSIONER

Age $150 Benefit $300 Benefit $450 Benefit

1 week to 5 years, inclusive 10 .20 .30
6 years to 15 years, inclusive .15 .30 .45
16 years to 20 years, inclusive .20 .40 .60
21 years to 44 years, inclusive .25 .50 .75
45 years to 55 years, inclusive .30 .60 .90
56 years to 60 years, inclusive .50 1.00 1.50
61 years to 65 years, inclusive - .75 1.50 2.25
66 years to 70 years, inclusive 1.00 2.00 3.00
71 years to 75 years, inclusive 1.50 3.00 4.50
76 years to 80 years, inclusive 2.00 4.00 6.00
81 years to 85 years, inclusive 3.00 6.00 9.00
86 years and Up 5.00 10.00 15.00

STATE OF MisSSISSIPPI

JACKSON

MINIMUM BURIAL RATE SCHEDULE

PER MONTH




Regulation LA&H 73-5 (Supp.)

EVELYN GANDY WOQLEY D.BOX
COMMIRSIONER # DERUTY COMMISSIONER
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STATE OF MississipPPl

JACKSON

November 30, 1973

T0: . A1l Persons And Associations Operating Under The Burial
Insurance Laws Of The State Of Mississippi

FROM: Evelyn Gandy
Commissioner of Insurance

The Insurance Department has been asked by a number of burial association
owners to give consideration to several changes and modifications which
they desire and propose to have made to the rules and regulations which
were issued and mailed to you from this office on November 6, 1973. Care-
ful study and thorough consideration have been given to these subjects
which are more fully reviewed and discussed as follows:

1. MINIMUM RATE SCHEDULE - Nothing contained in our regulation
of November 6, 71973, was intended to convey the impression
that the Commissioner of Insurance had established a manda-
tory standard rate to be used by any association whose policy-
hg]ders.serv1ces, tuneral benefits and plan of operation under
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gfead, this séﬁeaule merely 1ists and seis f;rth the lowest or
minimum rate which would be approved by the Insurance Depart-
ment for any association.

Our study shows that a substantial number of associations

are presently using this minimum rate schedule as a standard
rate and can justify its continued usage. Further, no ad-
vantage has been found for this or any other so-called mini-
mum rate schedule except the doubtful value of possibly dis-
couraging wilful intent to twist business from one association
to another. The Insurance Department holds the view that any
such unethical practice can and will be properly dealt with
under other related insurance statutes.. )

In view of the foregoing, notice is hereby given that no

change has been approved or made in the afore-mentioned

minimum rate schedule which has been long-established and
accepted by both the Insurance Department and burial insurance
industry for many years. However, we emphasize again that each
associz<ion has the option of using tais minimum rate or a high-
er rate provided that proper justification for whichever rate is
proposed is submitted to the Insurance Department.

2. STANDARD PRUVISLUNS - A large number of associations have
submitted new policy forms which have completely failed to
incorporate or include the new standard provisions which are
an absolutely mandatory requirement of the revised burial law
after January 1, 1974. For your information and guidance in
this regard, we enclose a copy of the required standard pro-




visions which must appear in every burial policy written
on and after Janitary 1, 1974.

There is only one exception or change which will be per-
mitted in the Standard Provisions, and this relates to
Section 8. If ycu wish your policy to provide for a 50%
pay-off, Section 8 should read:

"If death and/or burial occurs more than fifty

(50) miles from any location of the funeral

home named herein and should the beneficiary
therefore deem it impractical for the associ-

ation to service this contract, the association
shall pay in cash to the member not less than

fifty percant (50%) of the face value of the
certificate to which the member is entitled or

the full return of the premium paid by the member,
not to exceed three-fourths percent (3/4%) of the
face value of the certificate, whichever amount is
larger. If death and/or burial occurs within fifty
{50) miles of any Jocation of the funeral home named
herein, and the member desires to use a funeral home
other than the funeral home named in this contract,
the association's 1iability shall be the full return
of the premium paid by the member not to exceed the
face value of the certificate.”

If zou wish your policy to provide for a 100% pay-off, then Section 8 should
read:

"If death and/aor burial occurs more than fifty

(50} miles from any location of the funeral home
named herein and should tha membar therafore deem

t impractical for the association to service this
contract, the association shall pay in cash to the
member not less than one-hundred percent (100%)} of
the face value of the certificate to which the
member is entitled, which shall be in full settle-
ment of the claim. If death and/or burial occurs
within fifty (50) miles of any location of the
funeral home named herein, and the member desires
to use a funeral home other than the funeral home
named in this contract, the association's liability
shall be the full return of the premiums paid by the
member not to exceed the face value of the certifi-
cate."

No burfal association will be autholized to issue a burial policy on and after
January 1, 1974, unless and until it has previously submitted and received the
approval of the Commissioner of Insurance of its policy forms and rates which

conform and comply with the rules and regulations of our Order dated November

6, 1973, and the above-mentioned authorized changes.

ORDERED THIS THE __30th DAY OF NOVEMBER, 1973

£ ag
EVELYN GANDY 1%
COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE
STATE OF MISSISSIPPI




House Bill 424, Misaissippi Laws of 1973, requires that all burial
policies tssued from and after January 1, 1974, contain the following
Standard Provisions.

STANDARD PROVISIONS

(1) The associatior will not be responsible for casket or any other
funeral supplies or experises contracted for by anyone unless authorized by
the association, subject to minimum cash gettlement: hereinafter provided.

(2) When this policy has been maintained in force for not less than
two (2) consecutive months, there will be a grace period of thirty (30) days
for the payment of any subsequent premium, and during such period of grace,
the funeral benefit provided herein shall continue in force, provided all
other conditions and stipulations herein contained shall have been complied
with by such member or members.

(3) This contract shall lapse, and the association shall mot be liable
for any benefits hereunder, when any premium payment on same is more than
thirty (30) days in arrears, and in such event all premiums paid hereon shall
bae forfeited to the association.

(4) If the contract is allowed to lapse, it may be reinstated by fur-.
nishing the association with satisfactory evidence that all members named
hereon are in good health, and by the payment of the premiums required by
the association, provided the policy is not over six (6) months in arrears.
Acceptance of premium as of date of lapse shall reinstate the contract as
of date premium is appliedi om lapse period.

(5) No agent haa tha power on behalf of the association to mo&ify this
contract or to extend the time for payment of premium, the entire contract
being that contained herein together with the application thereof.

8 oL TéserVes the right to investigate wirhin one (i)
year from date of application all statements made in the application as to
age or condition of health, and should any of the statements made therain
be found to be false, the association's liability shall be limited to the
return of all premiums paid hereon, and the policyholder shall forfeit all
rights to the funeral benefits. All applicants must be in good health when
this comtract is delivered.
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(7) This contract shall be incontestable after one (1) year, except for
nonpayment of premiums.

(8) 1If death and/or burial occurs more than fifty (50) miles from any
location of the funeral home named herein and should the beneficiary therefore
deem it impractical for the association to service this contract, the associ-
ation shall pay in cash to the member not less than fifty percent (50%) of the
face value of the certificate to which the member is entitled or the full return
of the premium paid by the member, not to exceed three-fourths percent (3/4%)
of the face value of the certificate, whichever amount is larger. Provided,
however, 1f premium rates of not less than ten percent (10%Z) 1in excess of the
rates described herein are requested by the associatlon and approved by the
commissioner, t.le standarc provisions contained in this paragraph mav provide
for a cash settlement up to one hundred percent (100%) of the face value of
the contract, If death and/or burial occurs within fifty (50) miles of any
location of the funeral hcme named herein, and the member desires to use a
funeral home other than tle funeral home named in this contract, the association’s
1iability shall be the full return of the premium paid by the member not to ex-—
ceed the face value of the certificate.

(9) There shall be ro 1liability to any person or persons insured here-
under if death should occur through self-destruction or suicide, whether sane
or insane, within one (1) year from date of issurance of this contract, or
within one (1) year from the date of any reinstatement. In the event of death
by suiclde or self-destiuciiou, uv return of premium shall be due under this
contract.



