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INTRODUCTION 
 

This Summary is a compilation of bills, sorted by subject matter, relevant to the 
Mississippi Insurance Department and signed into law after the 2015 Session of the 
Mississippi Legislature.     
 
A hyperlink is provided after each bill that links to the actual bill text on the Mississippi 
Legislature website, http://www.legislature.ms.gov .  
 
Throughout the document, for brevity, reference is made to the Mississippi Insurance 
Commissioner as “Commissioner”.   The Mississippi Insurance Department is referred to 
as MID. 
 
The Mississippi Insurance Department remains at your service to answer any questions 
regarding the content of this report. 
 

Mississippi Insurance Department 
Legal Division 
P.O. Box 79 
Jackson, MS  39205 
(601) 359‐3577 
http://www.mid.ms.gov/  

 
 

I. Automobile Insurance 
a. HB 525  Chism 

MS Code Ann. §§ 16‐15‐69, 43, 45, 7 
Title:   Motor Vehicle Safety‐Responsibility Act requires a Certificate of Insurance 
be provided to DPS for reinstatement of Driver’s Licenses suspended under the 
Implied Consent laws.   
Summary:  Proof of Liability Insurance for reinstatement under the Implied 
Consent Laws must be maintained for not less than 3 years.  Such proof may 
consist of any motor vehicle liability policy form approved by the Commissioner 
of Insurance.  These policies shall not be cancelled until at least 10 days notice of 
cancellation.  DPS shall enforce this Act but may not require fees from insurance 
companies.    
Effective Date: January 1, 2017. 
Read Bill–HB 525 (As Sent to Governor) – 2016 Regular Session 
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II. Health Insurance 
a. HB 93  Formby 

MS Code Ann. § 83‐9‐3 
Title: To revise the provision of law regarding the time for which an assignment 
must be honored.   
Summary: Previously Commercial Insurers were required to honor an 
assignment of a contract for a period of one year from the initial date of such 
assignment or until the insured revokes the assignment.  This bill removes the 
insured’s option to revoke the assignment. 
Effective Date: July 1, 2016. 
Read Bill–HB 93 ( As Sent to Governor) – 2016 Regular Session 
 

b. SB 2300   Carmichael 
MS Code Ann. §§ 83‐9‐209, 219, 221 
Title:   Comprehensive Health Insurance Risk Pool; revises eligibility for coverage 
and clarifies when the Association may close enrollment.  
Summary:  Clarifies definitions of eligibility for coverage including removal of 
“federally defined eligible individual” from coverage, gives the Association the 
option to close enrollment for coverage that is no longer necessary with the 
Commissioner’s approval. 
Effective Date: Upon passage, signed by the Governor on April 4, 2016. 
Read Bill–SB 2300 (As Sent to Governor) – 2016 Regular Session  
 

III. Insurance Department 
a. HB 1381  Chism 

MS Code Ann. § _________ (Code Section to be assigned by Publisher & Joint 
Code Committee) 
Title:   Provide for licensure and regulation of Transportation Network 
Companies (TNC) (i.e. UBER/LYFT)   Requires the Commissioner of Insurance to 
issue such licenses and regulate TNC’s.   
Summary:  Requires any TNC to be licensed by the Commissioner of Insurance, 
annual license fee is $5,000, establishes minimum insurance requirement as 
follows: not engaged in a prearranged ride ‐ $50K/$100K/$25K ‐ as satisfied by 
the driver or the TNC, or a combination thereof, engaged in a prearranged ride ‐ 
$1 Million – as satisfied by the driver or the TNC, or a combination thereof, 
affirms the “livery exclusion” allowing insurers to exclude coverage when the 
operator is “logged on” to a TNC network, TNC drivers are independent 
contractors, TNC drivers must be 18 and pass criminal background checks, other 
government entities may not impose taxes or license TNC drivers but may adopt 
reasonable regulations for airport property.  
Effective Date: July 1, 2016. 
Read Bill– HB 1381 (As Sent to Governor) – 2016 Regular Session  
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b. SB 2189  Carmichael, Blackwell 
MS Code Ann. § 83‐5‐405 

Title:  Change the Risk‐Based Capital Requirements of a company action level 
event for a life and /or health insurer. 
Summary: Changes the Risk‐Based Capital Requirement from the minimum of its 
authorized control level RBC and 2.5 to RBC and 3.0. 
Effective Date: July 1, 2016. 
Read Bill‐ SB 2189 (As Sent to Governor) – 2016 Regular Session  
 

c. SB 2664   Burton 
Miss. Code Ann. §§ 83‐9‐3, 7, 13 
Title: Bail Bond Industry Transparency and Accountability 
Summary: Enhances Commissioner of Insurance authority to regulate the Bail 
Bond industry.  Changes ineligible crimes for licensing to only those relating to 
duties of a bail agent, requires the Insurance Department to establish a 
statewide Electronic Bondsmen Registry and Bail Bond Database providing bail 
bond and bail agent information by October 1, 2016; requires the Insurance 
Department to submit a report to the legislature by December 1, 2017, of bail 
bondsman bonds status and compliance regarding Registry and Database.  This 
bill also returns the authority to approve prelicensing and continuing education 
providers and courses back to MID. 
Effective Date: July 1, 2016, Repealer July 1, 2018. 
Read Bill‐ SB 2664 (As Sent to Governor) – 2016 Session  

 
IV. Licensing  

a. SB 2192  Carmichael, Blackwell 
MS Code Ann. § _________ (Code Section to be assigned by Publisher & Joint 
Code Committee), and, MS Code Ann §§ 83‐17‐65, 71. 
Title:   Authority to enjoin an insurance licensee from unlawful activities; to take 
action against nonresident insurance producers licensed in Mississippi whose 
license is denied, suspended or revoked in their home state. 
Summary:   
(1)The Commissioner may, with reasonable evidence, enjoin any person, 
company, corporation or association from engaging in any improper/illegal 
activity with a cease and desist order.  A hearing in the cease and desist matter 
may be requested within 20 days.  Failure to abide is a misdemeanor with a 
$5,000 fine.   
(2)Individuals whose license is denied, suspended or revoked in their home state 
shall face the same action in Mississippi without prior notice.  They have 10 days 
to request a hearing that must be held within 30 days to determine the 
reasonableness of the action. 
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Effective Date: July 1, 2016. 
Read Bill– SB 2192 (As Sent to Governor) – 2016 Regular Session  

b. SB 2193  Carmichael 
MS Code Ann. §§ 27‐15‐97, 83‐17‐401, 419, 513, 517 
Title:   Revise Insurance Adjuster privilege tax, education requirements, license 
period and continuing education requirements. 
Summary:  Privilege Tax changed to $400/$100, from $200/$50, for each 
company/person engaged in the business of adjusting insured losses.  Workers 
Compensation Adjuster is created.  Renewal licenses require 12 hours CE for 
those with licenses in effect for up to 18 months or less, and, 24 hours CE those 
with licenses in effect for more than 18 months.  Licenses are renewed on a 
biennial basis. 
Effective Date: July 1, 2016.  
Read Bill– SB 2193 (As Sent to Governor) – 2016 Regular Session 
 

V. State Fire Marshal 
a. HB 1205  Hale, Miles, Bain, Carpenter, Hopkins, Arnold, 

Reynolds, Bennett, Hughes 
MS Code Ann. § 45‐2‐1 
Title:   Define causes of death covered under the Public Safety Officers Benefit 
Act of 1976 or the Hometown Heroes Survivors Benefits Act of 2003 and to 
revise the cause of death language for the Law Enforcement Officers Death 
Benefits Trust Fund. 
Summary:  “Cause of Death” means any cause that would be covered under the 
Public Safety Officers Benefit Act of 1976 or the Hometown Heroes Survivors 
Benefits Act of 2003 (42 USCS § 46), and now, death that occurs as the result of a 
performance of official duties is considered a covered cause of death . 
Effective Date: July 1, 2016. 
Read Bill–HB 1205 (As Sent to Governor) – 2016 Regular Session 

 
b. HB 1747  Smith     

MS Code Ann. § 19‐5‐189 
Title:   Revise Fire Protection Districts manner of increasing special taxes. 
Summary:  Authorizes County Board of Supervisors to increase the tax levy of 
Fire Protection Districts (FPD) for FPD’s created after July 1, 1987. If after public 
notice more than 20% of the qualified electors in an FPD request an election on 
the tax increase, then a reverse referendum shall be held and the proposed 
increase must receive a majority of the votes cast for approval.   
Effective Date: Upon passage, signed by the Governor on May 5, 2016. 
Read Bill– HB 1747 (As Sent to the Governor) – 2016 Regular Session 
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c. HB 1639  Frierson, Jennings, Clarke, Barker, Bounds, 
DeLano, Eaton, Eure, Sullivan 
MS Code Ann. N/A  
Title:   MID Appropriations FY 2017 
Summary:  Authorizes $13 Million for the Mississippi Insurance Department and 
State Fire Marshal expenses.  Re‐Authorizes $1.75 Million to the Rural Fire Truck 
Acquisition Assistance Fund and the Supplemental Rural Fire Truck Fund.   
Effective Date: July 1, 2016. 
Read Bill–HB 1639 (As Sent to Governor) – 2016 Regular Session 
 

d. HB 1640  Frierson, Jennings, Clarke, Barker, Bounds, 
DeLano, Eaton, Eure, Sullivan 
MS Code Ann. N/A  
Title:   Fire Academy Appropriations FY 2017 
Summary:  Authorizes $5.4 Million for State Fire Academy expenses. 
Effective Date: July 1, 2016. 
Read Bill–HB 1640 (As Sent to Governor) – 2016 Regular Session 
 

e. SB 2362  Clarke,  
MS Code Ann. N/A  
Title:   Mississippi Budget Simplification and Transparency Act of 2016 
Summary:  MID, the State Fire Marshal’s Office, and the State Fire Academy are 
converted from Special Funds Agencies to General Funds Agencies. All fees 
collected that previously were deposited to the MID, SFMO or SFA special funds 
that were used for their legislatively designated purposes will now go to the 
General Fund. 
Effective Date: July 1, 2016. 
Read Bill–SB 2362 (As Sent to Governor) – 2016 Regular Session  
 
 
 
 
 


